Binding kits

I have been meaning to make some Goody Goody Binding Kits for a while, but I could not choose which fabrics to use. I wanted to make one to use something from my stash of heavier cotton and linen fat quarters, but I also wanted to make something really girly. Dozens of fabrics were pulled from my stash, sorted into groups and colour combinations, resorted, piled up on my sewing table, agonised over, moved onto the floor because they were in the way of my cutting mat, put back into my stash because I was worried about tripping on them on the floor, pulled out again … you get the picture.

In the end, I made two. I would have made three if I could have made a decision on a third fabric combination.

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with Lakehouse and other girly floral prints

The girly hexies on the front make me happy.

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with a Japanese cotton and linen blend

Weirdly, I cannot bring myself to cut off all the extra ribbon. Perhaps the new owner will be more sensible.

I modified the pattern in a number of small ways:

  • I cut the inside piece as two pieces, each 6 × 7 inches instead of one 11½ × 7 inches, as this allowed me to avoid any raw edges inside the zipper pocket.
  • I added a rectangle of accent fabric behind the felt needle holder.
  • I cut two pieces 4½ × 5½ inches for the pocket, one of lining and one of front, so the pocket is half an inch deeper and lined with a different fabric.
  • I cut my pocket binding 1¼ × 5½ inches, so it was only a single thickness and less bulky, and hand stitched it for a neat finish.
  • I cut my binding on the bias and hand stitched it. It seemed silly to make a binding kit and not finish it neatly with hand binding.
  • I used ribbons for the thread holders and the outside ties. Much simpler and very neat!
  • I quilted the black one with a chevron that loosely follows the design of the print. I quilted the pink one with vertical lines. I deliberately missed two of the vertical quilting lines on the pink one so they could be sewn when joining the inside to the outside. This avoided overstitching along the same lines and gave a neater finish.
  • I needle-turn appliquéd my strawberry stem instead of using the fusible raw-edged appliqué method, and I added some embroidery stitches to finish it.

The black fabric is one from the Japanese Colour Club. I am giving this away today as my sewing group Kris Kringle gift. Black is not a colour I have a lot of in my stash, so I had to buy some extra black fabric for the binding and some solid black to line the pockets. I was trying to find a pink that would work as the binding, but I had no luck. That is probably for the best. I do not know who will receive this in the lucky dip, and not everyone loves bright pink as much as I do.

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with a Japanese cotton and linen blend

I made the scissor pocket to fit a pair of black-handled scissors I bought to be given away along with the kit. I am keeping my Aurifil thread spools!

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with a Japanese cotton and linen blend

Hmm. The fluff from the wadding really shows up on the black fabric in the photos. I will have to de-fluff it before I wrap it and give it away.

The pink one started with Essex yarn-dyed linen and some Lakehouse floral prints, which I mixed in with a few prints from my stash. The red spot I used to line the pockets is positively ancient and is not a quilting weight, but as this is not a quilt, I used it. Everything except the zipper came from my stash. I was really happy with how the Lakehouse print has tiny strawberries to match the pocket. Cuteness overload! This one I get to keep!

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with Lakehouse and other girly floral prints

The inside features several Lakehouse prints.

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with Lakehouse and other girly floral prints

If you look closely, I think you can see where I added buttonhole stitch embroidery around the strawberry stem.

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with Lakehouse and other girly floral prints

The pockets are lined with a red polka dot, and I was able to stitch the inside to the outside very neatly in the ditch.

Goody Goody Binding Kit made with Lakehouse and other girly floral prints

I roughly fussy cut a bouquet of flowers and tiny strawberries for the pocket.

As much as I love my girly kit, I think the other is better to give away as its relatively grown-up colours will appeal to more people in my sewing group.

Do you find choosing fabrics almost as time-consuming as sewing the project, or is that just me? I even have a bit of a reputation at my local quilt shop. ‘Do not worry about Carla just yet. She is happy playing in the corner and will need another half hour at least before she is ready to make a decision.’ When I made an uncharacteristically snap decision recently, they almost died of shock!

56 thoughts on “Binding kits

  1. These are delightful Carla! I love the floral one too, but I’m a flowers girl from way back! And the details are super too- the strawberry, the zipper pocket and the hexies on the front! Lovely in every way!

  2. Such a fun pair of kits. One sweet and prim, the other jazzy and sophisticated. I love this pattern and will have to make one. My question is, how do you find all of these great patterns? Charming blog, where the tutorial is found. Thanks

    • I think it helps if I have a starting point, like in a bee block where the queen bee specifies colours and styles. I had no limits or guidelines when making these. I could have gone with any combination I liked, and that made the options and the decision-making overwhelming.

  3. Choosing fabric combinations can be agonising…….usually even worse on a small project! I hate to be matchy matchy from a range, but always doubt my own choices. I am not a fan of black, but I do love your girly version.

    • I thought I was not a matchy-matchy fabric range kind of girl, but on my recent retreat I realised that I had three projects and all of them were entirely or mostly from several ranges by one design team: Liberty, French General and Bonnie & Camille. I need to branch out more!

      There is not a lot of black in my stash, but I really loved this bird print when it arrived.

  4. Oh what wonderful work. I have been wanting to make something like this for my daughter, but didn’t know how. After seeing yours, I know what I can do, though not exactly like yours. I will share in a post later, thanks for sharing this!!! So creative.

  5. Those are so wonderful. I too have the same problem of picking out fabrics. It stressed me out for a time, and then I just learned to enjoy the process. For me it just means more fabric petting time.

  6. Both are lovely! 😀 The little strawberry pocket is just adorable. For me, it depends on the project, and/or what I’m shopping for. I have a very easy time choosing fabric when I’m actually at the store for thread… 🙂

  7. At first, I was all “What the heck is a binding kit?” and now I’m all “How have I lived this long without one of these?!?!” You are forever adding to my considerable list of “Gotta Makes” I love the process of choosing fabrics. Sometimes it’s labour intensive, other times it’s quick. Either way, it’s one of my favourite things. I love the black version… and the other is lovable in it’s girlyness (just not for me!)

    • It is a hand-sewing kit cleverly rebranded to avoid frightening anyone who hates hand sewing!

      You are not the only person who the girly one is definitely not for. The person who drew it at our Christmas party avoids florals and pink like the plague. Phew. I gave the right one away!

  8. I just found you today and am in love.. LoL! You are so talented and your blog is so very beautiful! 🙂 I linked to you today as I purchased a book you recommend a while back on a coaster post… (318 Patchwork Patterns). I’m following now so I can see all your beautiful work! Have a wonderful evening!

  9. These are gorgeous and I love all of your modifications as they really refine the finished “book”. I have decided to make this my first non-quilt project. I have no previous sewing experience before learning how to piece quilt tops three years ago. I don’t understand the following modifications. Reducing the width of the pocket binding so that it is a single thickness. Are there more detailed instructions or a tutorial you can refer me to? Also lining the pocket and creating two pieces so that there are no raw edges. Can you provide some more details or direct me to some other tutorials?
    Sincerely – New at sewing

    • Sorry for the delay in replying, Kristy. I have been travelling.
      Let’s see if I can answer your questions.
      Binding can be made in two ways: double fold or single fold. The pattern calls for double fold, but I used single fold as it is less bulky. The videos here show the difference: http://fatquartershop.blogspot.com.au/2015/08/single-fold-binding-v-double-fold.html.
      As for the other question, if you look at Vanessa’s instructions, you will see that she cuts piece C as one piece of fabric 7 by 11.5 inches. Instead, I cut piece C as two pieces 7 by 6 inches – one becomes the back of the zipper compartment and one is the bit behind the scissor case, etc. Where they join is the edge of the zipper compartment. I basted one piece behind the zipper compartment. Then, where she folds the right side of the zipper compartment under a quarter inch, I sewed my pre-basted zipper compartment to the other 7 by 6 inch piece. No raw edges are visible inside the pocket!
      I am happy to supply more information if this still does not make sense.

  10. They are both gorgeous! Yes, I’ve been there too. I spend so much time deliberating that the day off I thought I had has vanished into thin air with me just moving fabric around. There’s just too much choice and so many projects to try sometimes.

  11. Pingback: Pinwheels for baby | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.