Dinosaur

I was invited to a baby shower last weekend, so I crocheted a baby gift to take. I might know next to nothing about the care and maintenance of babies, but I think I am pretty good at making baby things.

Amigurumi dinosaur made using Yanina Schenkel's pattern

He is such a handsome dinosaur.

I had a bit of a false start with some 4-ply (fingering) wool, and I soon realised that the finished toy would be very, very small. I ripped out that attempt and restarted with 8-ply (DK) cotton. The pattern actually calls for 5-ply (sport), but 8-ply yarn worked perfectly.

Amigurumi dinosaur made using Yanina Schenkel's pattern

I had a false start when I tried using 4-ply yarn. Too small.

Amigurumi dinosaur made using Yanina Schenkel's pattern

I hemmed a piece of double gauze for a swaddle to include with the gift.

I supported three local shops with this project.

Although I work one day a week in a craft shop that has most things I need, I like to visit the others. You never know when a customer is going to be looking for something that we do not stock. Having a knowledge of the other local shops helps me send customers in the right direction. I also get to indulge my crafty habit and support other local businesses.

Amigurumi dinosaur made using Yanina Schenkel's pattern

When you think you are close to finishing, there is still quite a bit of sewing to do.

The pattern for the dinosaur was one I cut out of Mollie Makes magazine a couple of years ago. It is by Yanina Schenkel of Pica Pau, and I cannot believe that no one else has added it to their projects on Ravelry. He is so cute!!

Amigurumi dinosaur made using Yanina Schenkel's pattern

The spots cover his butt join.

11 thoughts on “Dinosaur

  1. Hello, the dinosaur is adorable. How do I find the pattern? My sister has a grandson that would live this, and so far my searches have come up empty.

    Thank you!

    • Hi, Kelly. Have you got in touch with Mollie Makes magazine or the pattern designer Yanina Schenkel of Pica Pau? They would be your best bet. Otherwise, look online for secondhand copies of that issue (no. 57). I was really surprised when I made it that no one else had listed a project from the same pattern on Ravelry.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.