Socks for me

When two skeins of discontinued blood-red sock yarn appeared in the sale bin, I pounced on them. They were labelled ‘beef’ by the dyer, Fleece Artist. The colour does look like raw meat, but in a good way. I like a dark red.

The yarn is a mixture of bluefaced Leicester and nylon for strength. I feel an affinity for bluefaced Leicester (and their bendy noses) because my family kept border Leicester sheep, the source of the bluefaced Leicester, in my childhood.

I used Wendy Johnson’s toe-up sock pattern ‘Lace and Cable Socks’ to knit one skein into a pair of socks for me. I remain a fan of knitting socks two at a time and from the toe up. By knitting them together on long circular needles using the magic loop method, I ensure that I have two matching socks. Starting at the toe, I know that I will have enough yarn; shortening the leg length is never as problematic as running out of yarn on the foot. Starting at the toe and working with circular needles also mean that I can try them on periodically to check the size.

Wendy Johnson's ‘Lace and Cable Socks’ pattern knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

The subtle cables up the sides look best when on the foot and slightly stretched.

I always find sizing makes me nervous with knitting, especially when knitting socks, when I am trying to determine the difference between foot size and sock size and negative ease. So much time can be spent knitting something before I realise it is not going to fit. Thankfully, these socks fit me perfectly, both in width and length.

I did not know that the yarn is supposed to be a 5-ply (sport) yarn and not a 4-ply (fingering) yarn until I finished. If I had known, I might have worried more about size! The socks knitted up exactly as I would expect a 4-ply to, so all is well.

Wendy Johnson's ‘Lace and Cable Socks’ pattern knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

The socks are a perfect fit for me.

From this skein, I have a little bit of yarn left, and I also have an untouched skein, enough for another pair of socks.

Fleece Artist sock yarn in ‘beef’ colour

I found two skeins in the sale bin.

I have to knit a bit faster. During my New Zealand holiday in September, the temptation of possum yarn was too great and my yarn stash grew. Yarn is now overflowing the top of the basket that I keep it in. My goal is never to have more yarn than will fit in one plastic tub – or one large basket, where I moved it because it looked prettier. I am stretching that rule a little because the basket is piled high. Most of my collection is 4-ply yarn, the weight that is suitable for socks, but I also have half a dozen balls/skeins of lace weight. I think I have enough yarn for nine pairs of socks. Yikes! Do I have enough time to knit nine pairs of socks?

6 thoughts on “Socks for me

  1. Maud I love your socks and I love the yarn as I have the same yarn/socks – well the patters is bit different but same as you, I also knit my socks two at a time on magic loop from toe up. Mine are about 5 years old and they are wearing good. Perhaps I’ll take a picture and post it on my blog. I love Fleece Artist yarns and have made about 5 pairs of socks so far, and that reminds me I have several skeins yet to knit. Time to make another socks. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. I love the colour too, although I’m not the world’s greatest dark red fan. I love socks, but have no occasion much to wear them except for motorbike expeditions south, when I need to wear boots. Trouble is, the socks I can buy here aren’t long enough; my boots are long and unless my socks are longer, the boots chafe my legs. Anyway, I’m lost in admiration, but *still* not tempted to learn to knit myself…

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.