Cottage sewing case

I started this sewing case a little over two years ago. I was on leave before starting a new job in January 2018, and I thought I would quickly whip up this whimsical sewing kit in a weekend. I had everything I needed for such a little project already in my sewing cupboards. Too easy!

Instead of two days, it has taken me two years. As with so many of my projects, I stalled and it was forgotten.

House sewing kit made by Granny Maud's Girl

The house front can be decorated in any way you like.

House sewing kit made by Granny Maud's Girl

The back of the house is undecorated.

The pattern is the ‘Cottage Sewing Case’ by Mandy Shaw, from her book Stitch at Home. I modified it by omitting a few things, like the pocket tags, poppers, most of the decorative buttons, some of the buttonhole stitch around the pockets and the bird on the roof. Another alteration was that I elasticated the thread and unpicker loops rather than making them with felt.

House sewing kit made by Granny Maud's Girl

Inside is room for the essentials: thread, thimble, needles, scissors and stitch ripper.

I do not think that this could ever fall into the category of a practical object, but it is cute and was fun to make.

House sewing kit made by Granny Maud's Girl

It closes even when fully loaded.

This little finish brings my 2020 UFO tally up to two. I have two fewer UFOs in my sewing room than I had at the beginning of the year. Hurrah!

I know myself well enough to know that I will always have UFOs, but I can certainly prune their numbers.

10 thoughts on “Cottage sewing case

  1. I tend to agree, not truly practical, but very endearing and it would make a perfect gift for someone who likes to stitch by hand. I love your interpretation of the cottage 🙂

  2. It’s so cute. I love it. I have been looking for a suitable carrier for all my English paper piecing….this isn’t it…but I love cute things. I have no idea what I really want but something bit enough to lug my Sue Daly rotary cutting mat, glue pen, papers, etc.etc.. Sounds more like a need a fancy suitcase. haha

  3. Congrats on finishing your little cottage. It is darling. I probably won’t make one, though, as I have too many UFOs also.
    Blessings, Capi

  4. How cute that little cottage turned out! Love the colors you chose, as well as the little felt flowers and the windows….it’s a project that will make you smile every time you use it!

  5. The cottage is absolutely the cutest thing ever! I, too, am whittling down the UFO’s. Somehow working on UFO’s while at day retreats or weekend retreats isn’t as “painful” as working on them at home so I have hope in the next few months I’ll be caught up (I don’t have that many). Good luck!

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.