Blue

My favourite colour is red, but there has been a lot of blue in my life recently.

I knitted a simple blue cowl from a single ball of Lang 4-ply (fingering) baby wool that I found in the sale bin. It was such a pretty colour and all on its own.

Hand-knitted cowl

The stitch pattern forms a pretty texture.

Hand-knitted cowl

The wrong side of the knit looks nice, which I think is important when it is likely to be visible.

The cowl pattern I used, ‘Sea Oats Serenade’, is small rather than loose and drapey, but it works perfectly to create the effect of a polo neck (or turtleneck) and keep your neck nice and toasty. It will fit most women, except those with very solid necks, and it is a good pattern to use up a single 50-gram ball in a pretty colour. I think it will work well under coats and is the right size to wear as an ear-warming headband. I have not decided whether this is for me to keep or give away.

Late last year, I finished my first embroidery project, which was started soon after I joined my local embroidery guild and took a class in Deerfield embroidery, a style that is influenced by crewel stitches but uses mostly shades of blue. I joined the guild and started working on this in 2016, so it is lovely to have it finished. I used the summer break to give it a good wash and iron.

Before this, my embroidery skills were very, very limited. I still have much to learn, but it is a good start.

I also knitted a baby cardigan. Yes, in blue!

The pattern is the ‘Rosebud Cardigan’ from Erika Knight’s Simple Knits for Cherished Babies. I bought the book second-hand at a library sale, and then I realised that I had to knit quickly if I was going to making anything from it for Lachlan before he grew out of it. The largest size in the book is for 6–9 months.

Raglan sleeve baby cardigan

The cardigan looks like a classic, simple shape.

Raglan sleeve baby cardigan

The back is plain.

Of course, because I like a challenge, instead of doing it the easy way and just following the pattern, I decided to knit it in one piece to avoid seams. The only part I sewed was under the arms, where I grafted a few stitches of the sleeves to the body. My notes about how I modified it to knit it in one are on my Ravelry page.

I also took a close look at the first pair of socks I made, which were for my grandfather back in the mists of time. (At least 20 years ago, probably more. Pop passed away in 2008.) I found them in the bottom of my grandmother’s wardrobe when she moved into the nursing home. My feet are about the same size as Pop’s. Why do I not wear them? Aha! That would be because of the many, many holes in them. Granny must have set them aside in her cupboard for repair, but I think they are beyond repair.

Old hand-knitted socks

The big hole in the toe is only the most obvious of many, many holes.

I am also working on another blue UFO: a Liberty cushion. I just finished hand quilting the front, so I hope to have it sewn up and ready to share in the next week or two.

After that, I will need a colour change.

4 thoughts on “Blue

  1. It’s all bluetiful. Sorry. You know me, unable to resist a pun, but it really is all very lovely, even the holey socks, and your embroidery goes beyond that and into the exquisite dimension 🙂
    So tell me, what colour can we expect next?

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.