Crocheted poppies

I have used my lunch hours at work constructively to make poppies to commemorate the end of the First World War. The end of a war is worth remembering!

Crocheted poppies for the 5000 Poppies Project made by Granny Maud’s Girl

From left to right: Ing’s frilly poppy, Ing’s 5-petal poppy, Asta Lott’s 3-petal poppy, Lynn’s easy crochet poppy and Ing’s ribbed crochet poppy.

These poppies will all be sent to the 5000 Poppies project, and all of the patterns are available from the pattern page on their website or from links on their Facebook group page. Members have posted some very handy video tutorials too. There are patterns for knitters and sewers and people who can only cut out and glue. If you are interested in helping this project, I encourage you to explore both the website and Facebook page.

I mostly used Luxury 8-ply wool from the Bendigo Woollen Mills, but I found remnants of a ball of mystery red yarn in the back of the cupboard and used that up too. It might have been 10 ply. I always used a 3.5-millimetre hook to get a firm and not floppy poppy (because no one likes a floppy poppy).

While crocheting these, I thought a lot about one particular pair of my great-grandparents, Fred and Dorothy Casey, who met in England when he, an Irish-Australian, visited England on leave from the war. If it were not for that awful war, they would never have met, and I would not exist.

My great-grandfather survived the war but died young, at the age I am now. I was a teenager when my great-grandmother died, and I remember her as a big part of my childhood. She had problems with her nose and could not smell the flowers she loved so much. She was always well dressed. She cycled around Switzerland. She had a twin sister called Daisy. She always politely asked for just a sliver of cake but ate the huge piece that was put in front of her. She was superstitious about bringing peacock feathers into the house. In my childhood memories, she was always cheerful and smiling.

Yesterday would have been my great-grandmother Dorothy’s 120th birthday. Her death when I was child was my first experience of losing a close and beloved relative. This week, we lost my father-in-law.

I am trying not to feel sad but instead remember and celebrate the lives they lived. How can anyone feel sad while crocheting poppies?

9 thoughts on “Crocheted poppies

  1. Kathryn Teale gave me your link because she knows I’m a Poppyholic!
    I’m involved in the RSLWA Field of Poppies project, aiming to create poppies for Armistice Day 2018 in Kings Park.
    I’ve supported 5000 Poppies for Melbourne, Albany and Chelsea events and have spoken to Lynn Berry about this Perth based effort.
    We have the WA Poppyistas Facebook page, encouraging members to create poppies. Please check it out to get more information on what we’re doing.
    Poppy on,
    Warm regards
    Terry
    🌺🌺

  2. Love your poppies, love your photo’s, love your stories 🙂 Wish there was a tutorial for knitting these poppies.

  3. If nothing else, your poppies have told an important story about your past, your ancestors and your history. But they’re also beautiful in their own right. My favourites are the ones in the middle.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

