Lola the orphan

Her name was Lola. She was a showgirl an orphan block.

I foolishly did not check my printer settings when I drew an English paper piecing block on my computer, and I printed it too small. I did not notice until after I had sewed the block and was about to join it to others. Then, the problem became far too obvious. I had to remake the block from scratch. But what to do with the cast-off block?

English paper pieced block by Granny Maud’s Girl

I used fabrics from my scrap box to make the block.

Make a Lola pouch!

Lola pouch made by Granny Maud's Girl

All finished and ready for … stuff.

Lola pouch made by Granny Maud's Girl

The back is plain.

Lola pouch made by Granny Maud's Girl

For the lining, I used some squared elements in just the right shade of blue.

Lola pouch made by Granny Maud's Girl

Lola is always ready for a close-up.

Once again, I used Svetlana’s Lola pattern. I followed the pattern for the large size, but I made the top panel a bit deeper to allow for the 5¾-inch block*. I used a heavier fusible fleece than I did for my earlier Lola pouches, and I prefer the extra rigidity of this, which is Vilene H640. My memory is hazy, but I think I used non-fusible quilt wadding scraps before and machine quilted it in place. This pouch stands up on its own, while the others droop. Not that drooping is necessarily a bad thing for pouches.

While I was buying the zipper, I spotted some tiny pompom trim. I had to add a bit of that.

Lola pouch made by Granny Maud's Girl

Oh, how I love a pompom trim!

I used one of my favourite fat quarters to make the binding and the base. It seemed a bit of a waste to have that lovely fabric mostly on the bottom where it cannot be seen, but I had to do it: the colours were just right. Inside is another treasured piece of fabric: Art Gallery’s squared elements.

The colours are bright and tropical enough that perhaps it could be from Copacabana, like Lola!

*The block should have been a full 6 inches square if I had paid attention when printing.

19 thoughts on “Lola the orphan

  1. Lola is a total hottie, absolutely gorgeous, and would not look at all out of place holding some Copacabana beauty’s sunscreen, lippy and sunnies. I do admire your sacrifice of the lovely fabric for the base and binding, but as you said, the match is so perfect it had to be…

  2. No mistakes only happy accidents, and your Lola pouch is gorgeous the lining and base fabric are the Perfect addition and the pompon trim is the icing on the cake. Great use of an orphan block I love it xxx

  3. Hi Carla, I am glad that I found your blog. We share many common interests. I have all the makings for a Dear Jane quilt and that’s were it ends. I joined a Block of the Month to make a blue Dear Jane. It was supposed to start with easier blocks and work to more difficult blocks. I was thoroughly disgusted with the first packet and, of course, I had already made the commitment. It was not the fabric. The quality of the copies of someone’s notes were not the best and the grammar in them was poor. I have a minor in one foreign language so I know how to dissect not only that language but also American English. My mother was a high school teacher with one of her fields being English. We had to use proper grammar at home at all times. So, when I got something for which I was paying and it was difficult for me to read due to the grammatical mistakes, I just put it aside and did nothing with the blocks each month. The only month that I opened was the first one. They are all in a box together. I need to open the packages and notate which set of blocks for which the specific fabrics are intended and make some goals. I have the book and the CD. Seeing your beautiful work inspires me to get started. My adult son and his four year old daughter live with me. This summer we also had his eleven year old son with us. School has started for his son who is now with his mother for the school year. The little one will start pre-kindergarten Tuesday of this week. I have been exhausted with the two children. The age difference made it difficult. Also, I have an invisible disability which leaves me exhausted, achy, and sleepy most of the time. As soon as I get Jessica to school, I have the rest of the time to myself until 2:30 when I pick her up from school. I’m hoping that I can get some crafting done – knitting, cross stitching, embroidery, and, of course, quilting. Your quilt is beautiful and a job well done. I have bookmarked some of the notes I found on some blocks for future reference. Thanks for blogging and sharing. Susan

  4. I think I have one small piece of that blue squared elements left. I almost used it yesterday but it wouldn’t have really been noticeable so I went with something else. I just loved those squared elements. BUT not as much as I adore your pouch. Great job!

  5. I’m trying to avoid buying anymore pouch patterns but I’m intrigued by the binding all around the top and Svetlana’s patterns are so well written……yours look cute as!

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

