It’s a boy!

My cousin recently had a baby boy. She did not want to know what she was getting – a boy or a girl – until the birth, so I made plans for each. Fortunately for me, she had a boy; the quilt I had planned if the baby were a girl is still incomplete.

‘Warm Me up, Tommy’ baby blanket made by Granny Maud’s Girl

It is not a fancy pattern, but it does the trick.

‘Warm Me up, Tommy’ baby blanket made by Granny Maud’s Girl

I did not remember to measure it before I gave it away.

‘Warm Me up, Tommy’ baby blanket made by Granny Maud’s Girl

I knitted it on long circular needles.

‘Warm Me up, Tommy’ baby blanket made by Granny Maud’s Girl

All finished!

‘Warm Me up, Tommy’ baby blanket made by Granny Maud’s Girl

And here is a close-up just for fun.

I used the ‘Warm Me up, Tommy’ pattern (details on Ravelry). It is rather hefty for a baby blanket because I used Bendigo Woollen Mills Luxury 10 ply (10 ply is worsted weight to American readers), but I had plenty of this yarn left after making the wedding blanket and a cushion cover. In fact, I still have plenty of it left. What shall I make with it now?

Leftover Bendigo Woollen Mills 10 ply yarn

I still have three full balls of each grey and one ball of blue. That is 1.4 kg of yarn still to knit!

15 thoughts on “It’s a boy!

  1. I have no idea how much yarn is needed for things, as knitting is complete mystery to me. But that dark slate grey and the pale grey together say ‘knitted jacket’ to me, pale stripes close together at the bottom and spaced further and further apart as you go up…

  2. I know what you can do with the extra–make me one! Just kidding. I am in awe of your knitting skills; that baby blanket is extraordinary! I’m going to show this to my sister, who is also a knitter, in order to brag about you. Super job, Carla!

  3. Wow! That’s dedication planning for both gender options. When my friends wouldn’t find out and disclose whether their baby was going to be a boy or girl, I gave them a giant stuffed giraffe instead of a quilt. They were planning a jungle-themed nursery at the same time as I was retiring the theme, and the 6′ tall lack in garage-sale judgement needed a new home. What do you know? The next time they let me know boy or girl ahead of time.

  4. Pingback: Winter warmers | Granny Mauds Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

