Laundry bag

Now that I am a working girl* again, I have to wear heels and smart clothes and makeup. I even have to brush my hair! My self-employed freelancing days of wearing jeans, T-shirts, cardigans and slippers about the house are behind me. This means that I have delicate silk blouses and – novelty of novelty – pantyhose that need laundering.

Hubby is still working from home and sometimes helpfully offers to do the laundry, and this means that anything delicate has to be stored separately from the usual laundry basket in a boy-proof container, which he knows is out of bounds. I had been using a carry bag from a department store, but it was time to upgrade.

Meet my new laundry bag.

Laundry bag made by Granny Maud's Girl

If I made another one, I might use a teacup as a template to round the bottom corners.

I used my peg bag pattern but made it bigger by:

  • using an adult-sized coathanger instead of a small children’s coathanger
  • making the opening circle 10 inches in diameter
  • fusing a piece of interfacing to the front lining to help the larger hole keep its shape.

I needed 90 centimetres (1 yard) each of outside fabric and lining fabric. From each, I cut two rectangles, 20 × 36 inches. I fused a lightweight piece of interfacing (about 18 × 20 inches) to the wrong side of the front lining. I then traced around the top of the coathanger and trimmed the top of each piece to the correct shape. The method was otherwise the same as a peg bag, just bigger.

Laundry bag made by Granny Maud's Girl

Here is my laundry bag and peg bag for size comparison.

The depth of my bag was determined by the half-hanging space I have in my wardrobe. I wanted a bag I could hang out of the way, next to my jackets.

It was so easy to make I even managed to cut out the pieces on a Friday evening after a glass or two of champagne at my work’s Friday-night drinkies. Yes, I broke my rule of no scissors after wine!

* ‘Working girl’ is what my granny calls me and my mum. We do not believe that she thinks we have turned to prostitution; she is merely referring to our status as working employees. We laugh every time.

3 thoughts on “Laundry bag

  1. I used to think laundry bags were for nannas, soldiers and boarding school children. I changed my mind when we got the caravan and I needed to corral the dirty clothes in something a bit more aesthetic than a plastic shopping bag, which I could also hang on a peg out of the way. I love your elegant idea, much handier than my drawstring version, but it probably wouldn’t work quite so well with Husband-type smelly socks… 🙂

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

