My first scarf

Would you believe that I have been knitting since I was a teenager and yet, until this year, I had never knitted an ordinary scarf? The closest I had come was knitting a lace shawl.

While working at Calico & Ivy, I fell in love with the variegated Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino yarn. My husband bought me four skeins of it for Christmas, and I knitted them up by February. It is only recently, however, that it has become chilly enough to wear scarves. After this week’s cold weather, I remembered to pull my new scarf out of the cupboard, and it might get its first outing this week.

Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino yarn

The predominantly pink yarn was my favourite, but I did not need a pink scarf. I added the other colour, which had a lot more blue in it, to get a more multicoloured effect.

We have had a very cold and rainy weekend. It was not a weekend for taking photos in the sunshine – it was a weekend for making soup, staying indoors and playing Scrabble with my grandmother – so the photographs I took earlier in the year are the best that I can manage.

The good news about the awful weather is that it was perfect for sewing. Yesterday, I finished cutting out a baby quilt and started sewing one section. Yes, I had proper sewing time, and my sewing machine and I are now re-acquainted!

Scarf knitted in Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino yarn

I think this will look nice with my navy coat or my red coat, or even my trench coat!

I have nicknamed my scarf my ‘unicorn poop scarf’ because I heard that unicorns’ poop is rainbow coloured.

If you are a knitter and want to know more about the scarf, I have noted all the details on my Ravelry page.

8 thoughts on “My first scarf

  1. Beautiful scarf, love the pattern. Packed away in my old suitcase is a vintage top I used to wear in the 80’s, made with this same pattern using a silky/cotton type yarn – this scarf brings back happy memories 🙂

  2. what a fun name! 🙂 even though we have summer the weather isn’t pretty either but perfect for sewing 🙂

  3. your scarf is absolutely gorgeous. And if that’s the colour of unicorn poop, then I want a unicorn for Christmas!

  4. I’m very pleased to hear that you have found some time to sew again … The weather has been perfect for it and for wearing your new scarf 🙂

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

