Starting and finishing

Last week, I went a bit wild and started four projects in four days. We know we should not, but we all do it, right?

  • On day 1, I started cutting out templates and pieces for a Christmas tree skirt I have intended to make for at least 2 years.
  • On day 2, I started making a knitting bag for a friend.
  • On day 3, I cast on a knitted baby blanket to use up the mountain of yarn I still have left over from the blanket I knitted as a wedding present.
  • On day 4, I rediscovered some bright blue pompom fringe and pulled out every scrap and fabric from my stash to start a scrappy cushion cover.

Needless to say, I did not finish all of those projects, and not one of these starts brings me any closer to finishing the hand quilting I need to do by the end of the month; however, I did finish the knitting bag last night. Hurrah!

Knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

I did some easy raw-edge appliqué to ‘draw’ the yarn.

Knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

The other binding I had was too red for the orangey-pink front, so I chose green to match the spots of the yarn and the knitting needles on the lining.

Knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

I again used linen for the background.

This is the fourth project bag I have made using Jodie’s work in progress bag pattern. (You can see the others by clicking the ‘knitting bags’ tag.) I seem to be in a Jodie fangirl phase. I used her pattern for the bag and her fabric for the lining. Last week, the pin I ordered from her also arrived in the mail.

Sewing school fabric by Jodie Carleton

This fabric is perfect for knitting bags, and I had to have the pin.

Am I alone in my need to start more things than I can reasonably finish?

13 thoughts on “Starting and finishing

  1. So far, I’ve managed to resist the temptation offered by two 20-strip jelly rolls in the fabric cupboard. I have nothing planned, I just love the colours. The knitting bag is, as always, enviable, the cushion is fabulously bright and gorgeous, and I think if you finish it in time you should join us for ScrapHappy on the 15th, and I can’t comment on the Christmas tree skirt, but I *think* you’ll be able to finish it in time for Christmas even if you start another 4 projects next week!

  2. I love the description of starting new things. I think I have that disease, too. I did (in November of last year) write down all the things I was going to finish, for sure. I find I just keep adding things to the list, although I was able to cross off five of the thirteen, so that is some kind of progress, right? (Does anyone else add things to their ToDo lists just so they can cross them off again?)
    That bag is wonderful, and I might need to go and get the pattern. I have a lot of zip bags, but there would be something so nice about a reach-in bag by my side. Very cute!

  3. That knitting needle fabric is just the most darling stuff ever and just perfect for this bag. I have to be honest. The thought of starting 4 projects in as many days would have me twitching in a corner. I can’t have that many WIPs going at one time, it’s just too much for my brain to handle!

  4. Huuuhhh, I think that might be the quilters disease (starting new projects before the old ones are even remotely finished). I think we have all been infested once or twice. I am not even sure it ever totally leaves again 🙂

    PS: Lovely bag – will check out the pattern.

  5. Absolutely gorgeous bag.
    I have lots of projects on the go. I like the idea of making a list and crossing them off when done. That might make me work faster!

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

