Manly socks

Please do not judge me when I say that I have been married for a very long time but that these socks are the first things I have knitted for my husband. From what I can gather, he had some sort of trauma in his distant past that might have involved something like a hideous home-made jumper with different-length sleeves that he was forced to wear in public. He has never spoken of it, but neither has he encouraged me to pick up the knitting needles and yarn (which he calls sticks and string) on his behalf.

Salted Caramel socks (pattern by Stephen Houghton)

Look! They fit!

I started these socks on a trip to Britain in September 2015 when we took my dad’s ashes back to the farm and the family grave. I remember the timing well because I had knitting needles (circulars) and a body (okay, ashes) on the aeroplane, much to the amazement of the chap sitting behind me. Yes, I am a danger to safe aviation.

I thought I might finish them for Christmas 2015, but we can all see how that panned out. They are finished in time for winter 2017, but he probably will not be wearing them for a while as we are still having a late-summer heatwave. It was 40°C (more than 100°F) on the day I wove in the ends on these socks. Not exactly sock weather.

So many months’ work went into their creation that I might have to impose a few conditions on when hubby will be allowed to wear them:

  • no untrimmed toenails
  • no dirty feet
  • no going outside with socks on but no shoes.

Yes, he will only be allowed to admire them in the safety of his sock drawer!

The Waikiwi yarn I used is a blend of wool, nylon (for strength, handy in socks), alpaca and possum from New Zealand. Perhaps it is the possum fur that makes the socks so very soft and warm. The possums in New Zealand are Australian marsupial possums that have gone feral. In New Zealand, possums are a pest to be eradicated, and the clever Kiwis make the toastiest socks and gloves with their fur. In Australia, possums are a protected native species.

Salted Caramel socks (pattern by Stephen Houghton)

The pattern is subtle and manly.

Although I am in a crazy knitting phase, I have been profiled in the current issue of Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 26, number 12. Honestly, I will have other quilty projects to tell you about, but I am working on a local quilt show entry that I have to keep under wraps.

Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 26, number 12

I get a mention in the current issue of Australian Patchwork & Quilting.

16 thoughts on “Manly socks

  1. There does seem to be a lot of woolly yarny-type stuff happening over your way, which is odd considering the weather, but none of us can foresee when we will be gripped by a passion… They are very handsome socks, and he’s a lucky man. Congratulations on your magazine feature, I hope it wins you lots of new followers 🙂

  2. Gracing the pages of a quilts magazine, how cool is that!?! Hubby’s socks are pretty nifty too 😉 from a mismatched sleeve jumper to a pair of socks only to be admired and not worn, perhaps you could make him a toque? 🤔😝

  3. Your hubby’s sock look fantastic, I have recently purchased a sock loom and several different sock yarns to make some lol had a go on the loom and failed so gave up! In sewing mode ATM but will have another try xxx

  4. Great socks! I want to know how you managed to get Mr Grannymaudsgirl to model them for you? I’m assuming those aren’t your hairy legs! Congratulation on the spread in the magazine! I love that one of your Humidicrib quilts is pictured – you made so many that year and the panda was a fav of mine 🙂

  5. Congrats on the magazine and the finish – am still working on the same 3 knitting projects for the last few years (hanging head in shame!)

  6. Congrats on the magazine feature! And the socks look fab. Hopefully it won’t be long before he can wear them (and don’t worry I still haven’t knitted any for my husband – well I did but the first sock was too small and I haven’t had the heart to try again yet. Maybe this Winter )

  7. This post is delightful–just the thing I need to cheer my day. I’m totally impressed with your husband’s socks, which are one thing my husband will never have. I’ll have to keep him away from your blog post, so he doesn’t get any ideas.

    Huge congrats on hitting print! I love it when my favorite quilters are in magazines– hooray for you!

  8. Those socks would look right at home in David Jones men’s department Carla! They are truly wonderful! Congratulations on being featured (not mentioned!) in the quilting magazine- aren’t you the star!?

  9. Hi Carla, I am new here, but I am having a wonderful time whizzing around your blog. I keep getting distracted and click on follow through links and get absorbed, if that makes sense. I would like to ask you a question please, I am also in Perth SOR and noticed in one of your blog entries that you used walnut shells for stuffing a pin cushion. Can you tell me where you managed to find it here in Perth please? I have been to quite a few pet stores looking for it but they all look at me like I am silly. Any help is greatly appreciated…cheers Jennifer

  10. Love the socks! Have heard that possum yarn is lovely to the touch — interesting how they are protected in one country and reviled in another. I recall the vast number of possum traps I saw when hiking in New Zealand. And congrats on the magazine spread!! Lovely!

  11. I’m catching up on my blog reading list and here you are all famous and published! What are you like keeping that quiet! Well done Carla 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻
    I couldn’t believe when I stayed with #1 son in suburban Melbourne last year that the animal making the god awful noise in his backyard tree was protected!
    My BIL would’ve had his shotgun out before you could blink 😆

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

