Flashback Friday: Tea with friends

I have not dug into my archives lately, but inspired by Jennifer of A Quarter Inch from the Edge and her Throwback Thursday posts, I thought I would. As I have just finished the top of my Compass Quilters bee quilt and made my bee blocks for September, and I am watching my August Stash Bee blocks arrive in the mail, it seemed like a good time to look back at one of my favourite quilting bee projects.

Kaffe Fassett teacup quilt pattern made by a group

The many different colours of the teacups everyone made were brought together by the sashing.

Back in 2011, I was coordinating my local sewing group when one of our members fell very ill. We decided to make her a quilt. She is a big fan of Kaffe Fassett and his designs (in fact, my sewing room cushion started as one of her leftover hatbox blocks) and the group decided that Kaffe Fassett’s teacup quilt would be a perfect choice. To us, it represented the idea of getting together with friends over a cuppa.

The pattern by Hilde Aanerud Krohg is called ‘En Kopp Te Til Kaffe Quilt’ (A cup of tea for Kaffe) and came from the book Quilt Road. So many of our members have so many copies of Kaffe Fassett books that we never had a shortage of patterns to refer to.

Everyone contributed one or two blocks and this quilt top is what we ended up with. There was a point, I confess, when I panicked. We had blocks in every imaginable colour combination, and I worried that they all clashed and would not look right together, but a small team of us hit a local quilt shop and lined up sashing and border fabrics until we found the ones that we felt tied all the many colours together.

Our group often works together to make quilts for members, but this is a particular favourite. What is your favourite bee or group project?

I am linking up with Throwback Thursday!

10 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Tea with friends

  1. Fabulous! Another of his quilts that’s on my Some Day list. I confess I haven’t participated in many bees, so I can’t claim a favourite there, but my favourite group project has to be my Worldwide Friends quilt! Yes, OK, I did all the sewing, but I couldn’t have done it without everyone else’s fabric and encouragement – and it would never have started at all without your furoshiki!

  2. Thar is a brilliant way to come together in support. I’m loving my house blocks made for me as Queen Bee this year – think this will be my favourite even though its not finished yet!

  3. As soon as I saw the pic, my mind jumped to Kaffe Fassett! I always find his fabrics and patterns to be a challenge… I’m afraid (like you) that they’ll head to an overly busy, colour saturated place – fast! You managed to balance all those teacups beautifully. I don’t have a lot of quilts made by group efforts, but my recent Converging Corners fits the bill and I like it so much I haven’t managed to part with it yet! Thanks for linking up!

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

