Puppies and scraps

I finished the top of my April humidicrib quilt in April, but I had a bit of a setback when I started to quilt it. I sewed about four straight lines before deciding that straight-line quilting was not working. I then shoved it in a drawer and waited for the mood to unpick to strike me. I do not know about you, but the mood to unpick rarely strikes here!

When I finally unpicked the quilting I hated and started again, I looked on Pinterest and found a paw design, which I mixed in with some filler swirls.

Humidicrib quilt with dog

The dog is a mustardy yellow. Does that make it a golden retriever puppy?

April’s quilt is made using one of the Fat Quarter Shop’s Snapshots Quilt-Along patterns. I added the bone and the bowl from a block by Kumiko Fujita.

For May, I felt inspired to set myself another scrap box challenge. I decided to transform the offcuts from the border I made for Rebecca into a tiny quilt to donate. Because of the size and shape of the offcuts, mostly triangles cut from 2½-inch strips, half-square triangles seemed to be the natural fit.

I started sewing together the scraps and making little triangles, adding a piece of leftover backing fabric, a text print. If I were to make this sort of design again, I probably would not use the text print as I feel everything is lost in its busyness, but it was in my scrap box and so I used it.

After piecing and trimming a few triangles, the following thoughts started to cross my mind:

  • Oh my goodness. How many will I need? I am going to have to square all of these up!
  • What was I thinking? These are tiny!
  • Who thought using up scraps to make a mini could take so long?
  • Am I saving fabric or wasting time?
  • I do not think I like half-square triangles any longer.

But I worked my way past that and survived. In total, I have 336 half-square triangles and eight squares, all in a baby quilt that is 16 x 24 inches.

Scrappy humidicrib mini quilt made with half-square triangles

Can you see the pattern or are you just going cross-eyed?

If nothing else, it did use up all those scraps!

This project seemed like the perfect opportunity to practise free-motion quilting. It is so very busy, no one will notice my mistakes. I tried a random Baptist fan design: something with curves to balance all those triangles and points. I am quite happy with it. My stitch length needs work, but I am getting more confident about free-motion quilting small things. Free-motion quilting a big quilt still scares the living daylights out of me.

I am so happy that I do not have to label or name the little quilts that go to the hospital. What would I call this quilt: the one that make your eyes cross?

I am a little behind on my goal of one humidicrib quilt each month, but only a little, and I know I can and will catch up.

25 thoughts on “Puppies and scraps

  1. I made a quilt once which I called a Dog’s Breakfast! Yours is at least pretty! And that’s a lot of HST for such a little quilt! Good for you!

  2. That is one cute golden retriever pup! I can see the pattern in the other baby quilt and my eyes quite like it! They say to use a lot of graphic pattern to stimulate bubs – apparently that good for them, although most new mums just want the bubs to sleep so they can too! Lol 🙂

  3. The paw print quilting is such a perfect touch, and I love the bowl and bone, too. And holy cow, that is a lot of HSTs for a tiny quilt!! I love HSTs, but I tend to make them big and use many less than that in a quilt (as you may have noticed for my bee block this month… so thanks for making me a few HSTs!!!).

  4. Your tiny HST: Some parent of a tiny baby will have lots of time to pour over the details close up. In a photo the pattern is evident and charming. It is busy, true, but also nicely done. I am amazed that you go through the same doubts that I do mid project. Good job persevering. Your work and your writing are a delight.

  5. Pingback: Two finishes | Granny Maud's Girl

  6. Good grief. That is a LOT of HSTs. And ripping out all the stitching on a quilt that isn’t even going to stay in your home and taunt you? You are dedicated. I like that you’re not just banging out 12 easy quilts for your humidicrib efforts. Each one is a tiny, time-consuming work of art. The parents of those littles will be able to feel the time and love you’ve sewn in. I’m sure of it.

  7. Pingback: A baker’s dozen | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

