Possum Magic: Round 6

In an earlier post, I explained how Serena and I had to square up Rebecca’s quilt before I could start adding to it. Once that was done, I could start planning what to add as a border.

I was inspired by Tessa Marie’s Sisterhood of the Travelling Quilts border. I thought something like that would be a fun addition to Rebecca’s quilt. As much as I liked what had been added so far, I felt that it needed more colour, more … oomph! A chevron border like hers, I thought, would give me lots of possibilities to add in colour.

I wanted to introduce more of the aqua and red that Rebecca had used in her centre, so I pulled out every fabric from my stash that I thought might work. Some fabrics had to be rejected because I did not quite have enough, but I was able to make a few favourites, like my last piece of blue Flea Market Fancy, stretch. I have only the tiniest scraps of that left now.

Possum Magic round robin quilt for One Wee Bird

I used Serena’s floor for a bit of early planning.

While Tessa Marie tried to avoid Y-seams when she made her border, I deliberately used them in the centre of each border so I could add a fussy-cut bird print.

I used fabric that Rebecca had provided to add more birds in the corners, and these linked in nicely with her centre.

Possum Magic round robin quilt for One Wee Bird

I made a few strips to test the waters.

I thought I had carefully calculated the chevron pieces, but I had drawn up my diagrams before Serena and I squared everything up. Our squaring up shrank the quilt top a fraction and messed up my measurements, and I did not realise this until after I had cut most of the pieces out. To work around the problem, I evenly trimmed the red chevrons closest to the corners to make the borders the correct length. I knew that I would find it difficult to be perfectly accurate over such a length of border, so I had already cut the end pieces extra large and chosen reds that blended and would hide any discrepancies if my measurements failed me – as they did. Honestly, unless I pointed it out, as I am doing now, no one would notice.

Red and aqua were not enough. I also wanted something that linked in with the colours of Wendy’s earlier border. This Philip Jacobs fabric seemed a perfect match. It was the one fabric I bought specifically for Rebecca’s border.

Philip Jacobs Petunias in orange

In large pieces, this fabric is too busy for this quilt, but in a narrow strip, the colours were just right to tie in with Wendy’s earlier border of orange, green, yellow and pink.

Rebecca’s quilt came to me looking like this.

Medallion quilt for Rebecca of One Wee Bird by Possum Magic

This is what it looked like before my border.

It now looks like this!

Possum Magic round robin quilt for One Wee Bird

And this is what it looks like now. It is now a whopping 76 inches square.

I probably have added two borders, not one, but both seem to be needed, so I let myself get carried away.

I am happy with the result. I feel the narrow Philip Jacobs strip, along with Jo’s earlier grey strip, sets off Serena’s lovely flying geese well. I am also pleased that I accomplished my aim of adding more bright colour. You can never have too much colour, right?

This was Possum Magic’s penultimate round. Only one more border to add to Jane’s quilt, and then I am done!

39 thoughts on “Possum Magic: Round 6

    • I like how the balance shifts – how different borders stand out more or less depending on what is added after. With my dark border, Serena’s light one stands out as more of a feature.

  1. Beautiful smooth graduation of colour, and I adore that Philip Jacobs print! At least you have the satisfaction of handing it on in good order as well as beautified!

    • I bought a LOT of that print as I hate joins in borders if they can be prevented. Now I have to figure out what to do with a squillion orange flowers! To start with, I have an idea for a few of them – a bit like the ongoing vase quilt in recent issues of Homespun magazine.

      • It’s the sort of fabric I hoard and only use grudgingly and sparingly. I have one of his orange/pink/yellow anemone prints, and I used it for the collar and cuffs of a grey and white checked shirt. Still a little left…

  2. I think you have a real gift. Each of these you’ve shown us has been better after your turn. The weight (balance) and movement you added with the last border really set this one up well for finishing. Thanks so much for sharing these. When it’s over, I’d love to see one last look at your before/after pix.

  3. I am floored with your designspiration. Super. I agree with lots of color, and your amounts are just right. My motto is look at the colors in the fabric, not the print. This quilt tells a great story.

  4. This is so beautifully done, Carla. I love the way the color arrangement makes the border seem to pulse and glow. And I am still in awe over your careful work to square up the quilt to prepare for your border. Well done!

  5. Very nice Carla. I had to look twice to see the narrow Philip Jacobs border, but it really does work well. I love the concentration of red in the corners too – it draws the eye out to the edges. I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks everything needs a bit of colour. I’m sure Rebecca will be thrilled with it.

    • Rebecca’s centre was red, but not much red had come back since, just in flashes. I felt it needed red, and the corners seemed to be where the heaviness of red – among the lovely lighter shades of earlier borders – might be OK.

  6. That’s a stunning border. And even with you pointing out the measurements being off in the red corners, I can’t tell. It really looks amazing.

  7. Good luck, Jane, in trying to finish this one off 😉

    The print you put in for the stop border works so well! It brings out Wendy’s colours and has the spot of green to match with Sharon’s too!

  8. Holy wow! You did an awesome job . It kind of looks like it’s shimmering now 🙂 Do you still have it? I’d love to see it in real life!

  9. Pingback: Puppies and scraps | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

