Possum Magic: Round 5

Possum Magic is in its fifth round. There are only two more rounds to go!

In this round, I was adding to Alice’s quilt. Alice is French but lives in New Zealand. She blogs at Blossom Quilts & Crafts and is relatively new to sewing and quilting, but she is brave enough to tackle a challenge like this round robin.

Alice started her quilt with a Liberty floral-print star on a yellow and pink background. It has since been added to:

As for me, once again, I was in recycling mode – I reused elements from earlier borders to try to create a feeling of continuity. I added a narrow striped border with cornerstones, the same width as Jo’s narrow pink striped border, and I drew and appliquéd flowers, stems and leaves similar in size and shape to Sharon’s. Some of the flowers include small pieces of the Liberty fabric from Alice’s centre block and the yellow fabric used in Wendy’s border. I used a pale green background colour, not dissimilar to a green used by Serena.

Initially, I thought of having the stems snake around randomly, but I do not do random well. Instead, I drew myself a pattern to make sure the stems were curved evenly. Given how strongly the green of the stem stands out, I am glad now that it forms an even and gently curved frame. I evenly spaced the flowers roughly, allowing them to rotate or be slightly off centre for a more natural look. I did manage to sew the leaves on spontaneously – without a pattern!

Patchwork medallion quilt made by the many hands of Possum Magic

After the fifth border has been added, Alice’s quilt looks like this.

This project allowed me to play with some of my Clover tools. The pressing bars made making lengths of bias stems nice and easy. I concealed all the joins in the stems under flowers for a neat finish. As Sharon had done, I made the flower centres from yo-yos, using my 30 millimetre yo-yo maker. The fine Liberty lawn makes the best yo-yos.

Clover sewing tools

I was able to play with my Clover pressing bars and yo-yo maker.

My floral border is a peculiar width – 4¾ inches wide – but I did that deliberately. Now, the quilt top is an even 60 inches square (60½ inches cut size), which is an easy measurement for Jane of Where Jane Creates to work with as she plans her addition.

I sewed all of the appliqué by hand. I do not begrudge the hours of work as I enjoy hand sewing and I felt that such a pretty and feminine quilt top deserved some feminine and pretty flowers. Sometimes, you just have to do whatever the quilt needs – be it a simple border that you can whip up in an hour or something more painstaking. It is about doing the best you can for each project.

The funny thing is that Alice added leaves and stems to my quilt too! Great minds think alike!

31 thoughts on “Possum Magic: Round 5

  1. I can’t imagine this being any more glorious than it already is, but I will wait for the end result. I’m sure your additions will be treasured for years to come! Lovely

      • I don’t know. Certainly it could be less quirky. Take a look at my quilts and see if they are less charming. If you are designing each border as you go, as I do, I think you can build in whatever feel you want.

  2. What a beautiful addition to the quilt, Carla, and how kind of you to get the quilt to an even size for Jane to work with!! I love your attitude about doing what is right for each quilt top. Your work is so well done and I know I would treasure and appreciate that much hard work!

    • Thanks, Jane. It is funny how you say that as I have been thinking how much I like how we have all submerged our personal preferences to focus on what the recipient wants – and yet you can still detect the individual hands at work. Cool!

  3. Just gorgeous Carla. I love the petals on those flowers, and all the dainty fabrics you have used. Alice will love it I’m sure.
    I too struggle with going free format. It never looks quite right unless it’s planned neatly in advance. As Colin Firth once said, “I’m not very spontaneous you know”.

  4. Wow Carla! Those appliqué flowers are amazing. You are such a clever girl and all hand sewn too. I am green with envy and hope one day to sit and hand sew some things…. I reckon I could totally get into it. Jen

    • Three reasons (of many) why I like hand sewing:

      1 You can do it on public transport and in waiting rooms.

      2 It is slower than machine sewing so your house does not fill up with hand-made stuff so quickly. (All husbands query the need for YET ANOTHER cushion or quilt in the house, right?)

      3 You can hang out with the rest of the family or watch TV as you sew. (The machine is too loud and in the wrong room in my house.)

      Have I sold you on the idea of hand sewing yet? 🙂

  5. I think the flowers were right the right choice! and they work with Serena’s butterflies since butterflies are always with the flowers! The darker green stems seem to balance and space out my border a bit as I think that was sort of standing out and drawing your eye in as it’s so different to the other ones.

    • There is not as much pressure as you think, especially as Jo made sure we had plenty of time each round and everyone is so lovely. We had not met each other before we signed up to the group, but everyone is so friendly and supportive.

    • The weird thing is that I am extremely patient with some things (like sewing) and then impatient with others. If I decide today that our shower’s soap dish needs replacing, I expect to be dragging my husband to the hardware store to find and fit a replacement this weekend at the latest.

  6. These borders are so creative and perfect!!! How cool that this is the work of so many talented women!! Really, really beautiful!

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

