Compass Quilters: Shauna’s World

Compass Quilters keeps moving along, and in January, Shauna of Shauna’s World is our queen bee.

Shauna asked us to make 6-inch cross blocks, and she wrote simple instructions for the block on her blog. Each block was to have a bright centre and a light-coloured background. What I found particularly helpful was how Shauna included a photograph of the colours she plans to use so we could raid our stashes for fabrics that would work well with what she has.

I think this simple block is going to make a beautiful quilt.

Patchwork cross blocks

So simple, and yet so effective!

Shauna said that purple is her favourite colour, so I went heavy on the purples. I then made a purple chicken pincushion. I have no idea why the pincushion needed to be a chicken. It seemed like a good idea at the time. I had not made a chicken pincushion since early last year, and I felt it would be fun to reuse my pattern.

Patchwork chicken pincushion and signature block

I made a pincushion and a reverse block to use as a signature block on the back.

Shauna lives in the United States and is a dog lover, like me. I am very envious of her long-arm quilting machine, even though I do not have anywhere to put one in my house and I do not make enough quilts to justify one. Shauna is a prolific quilter and finished a huge number of quilts just in 2014. I counted almost thirty!

I took three parcels to the post office yesterday – this and two for Stash Bee, which I have signed up for in 2015. No wonder the post office manager knows me by name. Have you joined any bees in 2015?

29 thoughts on “Compass Quilters: Shauna’s World

  1. Just joined the Bee Hive Quilting Bee, starting in February. Love your colour choices in the blocks. As I was typing the Post Man arrived with my last fabric purchase for
    2014, I am on a self imposed fabric and craft book diet (swapping and gifts not included).

  2. No groups, except the embroidery Stitch Along. It sounds sort of selfish, but I want to keep my time free in case inspiration strikes and something I just HAVE to make comes along. I wouldn’t want to let the others down… Lovely colours you’ve chosen, I especially like the yellow vintage style floral print.

  3. As always, your blocks are wonderful Carla and O-M-G that chicken is adorable! I think it’s so generous of you to make pin cushions for all of us. I just love the one you made me. Makes me smile every time I see it. I’m also in Stash Bee, but that’s the only one I’ve committed to so as not to stress myself out.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

