Drawstring bag

After making all those drawstring bags for Christmas wrapping, I was inspired to grab a mini charm pack from my scrap box and make another bag. A friend in my local sewing group made a scrappy bag like this using leftover quilt bits, and hers was the inspiration for both these and the Christmas bags.

I cannot tell you the fabric range as I foolishly threw the wrapping away ages ago. The mini charm pack came as a bonus freebie with a fabric order.

Patchwork drawstring bag made with mini charm pack

As soon as I omitted the few brown fabrics, this mini charm pack appealed to me much more!

As I did for the Christmas bags, I made the measurements up as I went along. If you want to make a similar bag, try Jeni Baker’s drawstring bag tutorial at In Color Order.

Patchwork drawstring bag made with mini charm pack

The fabric range featured caravanning and camping in a few prints.

Patchwork drawstring bag made with mini charm pack

The lining is a cheery yellow spot.

I am really happy with the turquoise accents, the yellow lining and the pink ribbon, all from my stash. I think this bag will eventually make its way to a little girl.

I hope you are finding some sewing time over the holidays!

23 thoughts on “Drawstring bag

  1. It’s lovely Carla! Very pretty. Wishing you an awesome Christmas. It’s been great getting to know you this year via blog land and I’m looking forward to reading what your up to and sharing about some creations next year. Merry Christmas. Jen

  2. Lovely idea for a mini charm pack. I bought myself a pack last week wondering how I would use it! It is a fun way to have a sampling of a particular range, don’t you think?

    • I found mini charm packs trickier to use than I thought. Like you, I love the idea of sampling a fabric range, but I had been sitting on this one and the Bonnie and Camille one I used for hexagons for ages before I finally figured out what to do with them.

    • Actually, it was surprisingly easy. You just whip up a panel with the squares and make the rest of the bag as normal.

      The closet is only half the story. The stuff I have found in a recent clean-out of my sewing space!

  3. This is perfect! Love the colours and I’m sure my daughters would love it! Little girl approved (and big girl too!). It’s so useful. I can see it being used for a long time.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

