Possum Magic: Round 2

In this Possum Magic round, I had Jo of Riddle and Whimsy’s block to add to.

Jo started her quilt with a very on-trend arrow. I liked the look of it and excitedly watched to see what Serena of Sew Giving planned to add to it. More arrows! Even better!

Possum Magic makes patchwork arrows

Jo and then Serena sewed these arrows.

When I started to think about arrows, I realised I could add more arrows, a bullseye, a cupid’s heart (which would probably make both Jo and me gag) or a William Tell apple with an arrow through it. The bullseye seemed to appeal to me the most, so I followed that idea, keeping the others in reserve as back-up plans.

Serena had supplied me with tea and biscuits for thinking, and there was enough to fuel my brain even if my husband stole some of the Tim Tams.

I scribbled some ideas.

I scribbled some ideas.

Patchwork arrows and bullseye plan

I transferred my ideas across to Adobe Illustrator to create a foundation paper pattern I could use.

Serena had desperately tried to square off Jo’s block to satisfy her engineering need for balance. The contrary side of my nature could not resist taking it back to a rectangle again. (Sorry, Serena!) My trigger point was headless arrows! They needed points!

The one thing I really struggled with for this project was colour choices. The block I had been given was mostly neutral, as the colours were limited to the arrows’ fletching. The project bag contained scraps of the fabric used in the fletching, but few were big enough for the outer rings of the bullseye. Even so, it was a very helpful starting point.

These are not my natural go-to colours, and I used every shade of purple I own. The only reason I own purple fabric is because I know it is handy to have when making bee blocks for other people! That is one of the fun things about bees: I am being forced out of my comfort zone.

Patchwork bullseye by Granny Maud's Girl

I chose colours for the bullseye by studying the colours Jo had featured in the fletching of her arrow.

The block I made is rather large (23 inches, cut), and I had to do quite a bit of fudging to get the pieces to fit on bits of A4 paper so I could foundation paper piece it. I appliquéd the centre as I pieced the segments together.

Patchwork arrows and bullseye

This is what I will be sending to Jane to add to next.

This composite block now has very odd dimensions (23 x 50¾ inches). The next person to add to it will be Jane of Where Jane Creates. Trying to consider Jane, before I trimmed and assembled the parts, I contacted her to see if we could somehow agree on proportions. It is always easier to add borders, for example, if you are not working with prime numbers and fractions. Jane, however, was happy to have whatever came. As she noted, it is easy to add sashing to build it up to a manageable size. There is also quite a bit of background that can be trimmed if needed.

Now, I wait excitedly to see what Jane does next!

I am already on tenterhooks waiting to see what Rebecca of One Wee Bird adds to my centre. What I have glimpsed so far looks lovely. In a month or so, I also get to add to Sharon’s centre. That should be fun. I think the whole group has already decided that the challenge will be to see how many different fabrics we can add to her happy scrappy Dresden centre. I think people are counting.

44 thoughts on “Possum Magic: Round 2

  1. This project continues to fascinate and astound me! Your target block is the perfect addition to the arrows! And the colours are all playing so nicely together! I am off to check out Rebecca’s efforts now! How exciting!

  2. haha nope, not really hearty… cutesy ones on something like a Care Bear, sure! But not on a quilt! Fabric prints are okay… but blocks… not really.

    I still love that you added a target after joking about it, so I always suspected you would end up doing it anyway! 😉

    It seems like my round robin quilt is more of a row quilt than a medallion. Serena is probably feeling lucky she won’t have it again since you’ve not only un-squared it, you’ve added dastardly purple!!

    • I rarely buy purple and black too, but I recently tried to fill these gaps in my stash by choosing a few I like. Brown just turns up uninvited – in bundles, usually. I deliberately bought some to make the bark of the tree wall-hanging, and then I didn’t use most of them! (Typical!)

      • Same – bark, that is; I have quite a few bits left over from the Tree of Life quilt. I also hate maroon, pale yellow and ‘sad’ colours arriving uninvited… Give me brights any day.

    • I’m in Possum Magic Diana, and I’m feeling stressed seeing what these Perth girls are conjuring up. I’m really going to have to lift my game before their quilts start landing in my letter box. But really, there is no pressure – it’s just do what you think is right for the quilt, and sometimes it just needs something simple.

  3. Well done Carla. It seems everyone is having fun with Jo’s block. Your idea was very clever and it looks great. I’m wondering if it will be a square again before it gets to me. If not, I might add rows of apples at the top and bottom to square it up!

  4. Love this! I am also going with arrows for my first border on my round robin. Great job making such a big pattern. I am sitting here with my fingers crossed hoping my first paper pieced layout actually works!

  5. Pingback: Possum Magic Round-up: Border 2 | Blossom Quilts & Crafts

  6. Pingback: Bathing In The Summer Lights | Riddle and Whimsy

  7. Pingback: Possum Magic Round-up: Border 3 | Blossom Quilts & Crafts

  8. Pingback: Possum Magic: Border 4! | Riddle and Whimsy

  9. Pingback: Possum Magic: Border 5 (Jane’s Quilt) | Riddle and Whimsy

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

