Flashback Friday: ‘Scrappy roses’

A while ago, a lovely lady in Queensland, Jan, emailed me to send me a photo of what she had made using my ‘Scrappy Roses’ quilt pattern. I get very excited when people do that, and I also try to share what I make with pattern designers.

What surprised me was that Jan had not found the pattern in the original Australian Patchwork & Quilting issue, volume 19, number 5, in which it had been published, but from another magazine by the same publisher, Magnificent Quilts.

I contacted the publisher to see if I could get a copy, but they did not have one anywhere. The magazine Magnificent Quilts was an extra magazine made up of previously published patterns that was bundled in the plastic wrapper with Australian Patchwork & Quilting at the newsagent but produced by a different team within the publishing house.

‘Scrappy Roses’, a quilt pattern first published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 19, number 5

‘Scrappy Roses’ is about 85 inches square.

Recently, I sent out a query through my local quilting association, asking if anyone had an unwanted copy. Rebecca of Brecca Baroo Quilts had a copy in her collection and kindly let me have it! Hurrah! (If you like beautiful traditional quilts, check out Rebecca’s blog as she regularly wins prizes at our local quilt show.)

What quilter would not want a copy of a magazine with her quilt on the cover and the word ‘magnificent’ in the title?! It might be overstating the point a bit, but I am going to lap it up.

Magnificent Quilts magazine and Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 19, number 5

It is hard not to get excited when your quilt features on the cover of a magazine.

Magnificent Quilts magazine and Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 19, number 5

It is even harder not to get excited when your quilt features on the cover of a magazine with the word ‘magnificent’ in the title.

This was the first of two quilt patterns I had published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting. (The other was my double wedding ring.) I never would have thought of sending it to the magazine if a local patchwork shop has not suggested I do so.

I started the quilt as I wanted a hand-appliqué project to take to my sewing group. I looked at an ancient quilting book in my collection, spotted a Whig rose block and decided to make something like that. When I could not find a pattern I liked, I looked online for ideas and then drew my own. At some point, the novelty of so many similar blocks wore off, and I filled in the gaps with 25-patch blocks.

I bought the border fabric from Spotlight, and it dictated the colour scheme. Everything else in the blocks was a mish-mash from my scraps and stash. It was supposed to be a restful traditional quilt, but it ended up much, much brighter and busier than I had planned.

‘Scrappy Roses’, a quilt pattern first published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 19, number 5

I am not sure I should try to take trendy close-ups until I learn some basic photography skills.

I finished the quilt in 2010, and I think it took me a little over a year but not quite two years to make. I was not confident quilting it myself, so I had it custom quilted locally by Donna of Calico Quilting and her long-arm machine.

I had not taken any photographs of this quilt, so I took it to Kings Park recently and photographed it in the spring sunshine among the everlasting daisies. I have had my reservations about it (too bright, etc.), but in the sunshine it did look rather magnificent, and I now have a renewed appreciation for it.

‘Scrappy Roses’, a quilt pattern first published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 19, number 5

It really felt like spring in among the everlasting daisies at Kings Park.

A note about photographing quilts in the park: your favourite lake with the beautiful statue and fountains might seem like a good idea as you are driving to the park, but the ducks and their poo will dissuade you from spreading your quilt on the grass within 100 metres of the lake!

‘Scrappy Roses’, a quilt pattern first published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting, volume 19, number 5

I artfully draped the quilt over a stone wall, well away from the lake and the ducks!

Thanks to Jan for letting me know about the magazine and to Rebecca for letting me have her copy!

And while we are on the subject of magazines, three of my Possum Magic gang are involved in the September launch of Make Modern magazine, a new craft magazine published electronically here in Australia. Jane of Where Jane Creates is the editor; Serena of Sew Giving has contributed a cute baby quilt pattern; and Jo of Riddle and Whimsy has been interviewed about her memory cat quilt blocks. You can preview the first issue here, and if you want to buy a copy, there is no need to get out of your pyjamas, get dressed and walk to the newsagent. Oh, no! You can download it straight to your computer as a PDF and start reading!

20 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: ‘Scrappy roses’

  1. Very very exciting! I think it’s wonderful you found a copy. Your quilt is gorgeous and I popped over to see your double wedding ring too. Perfection and pretty photos.

  2. What a exciting thing to find you are a “cover girl”!? It’s a gorgeous design and looks beautiful draped on the stone wall! Bad luck about the duck poo!

  3. Goes to show you don’t need the latest trendy fabrics to make a cover-worthy quilt!!

    Is it common for magazines to republish your patterns without letting you know? Do you ‘give up’ those rights once you’ve agreed to be published in a magazine?

    • Do you think fabric trends are a little like bubble skirts and shoulder pads? Is it better to stick with the classics you like, perhaps?
      As for magazines, it depends. I think they didn’t let me know in this case because it was produced by another team that I had no dealings with. They certainly let me know about the calendar reuse.

  4. How cool to find that the pattern was published elsewhere and get a copy of it, too! Wow, and on the cover. I understand about being wary of the ducks and pond, but your photoshoot was a success anyway! Congratulations!

    • Yes, I posted the quilts from Perth to the magazine’€™s offices in Sydney, where the magazine arranged for a professional photographer. Amateur photos are never up to magazine quality.

      Both my quilt patterns were photographed in the same house by the same stairs, so it looks like I live in a house with cream carpets. With a cat, a dog and a husband, cream carpet would never happen here.

  5. You’re a cover girl!!!! It’s also a bit strange that they published your quilt in another magazine without telling you? Is that normal? I think it’s wonderful that the lady wrote to you to share her work using your pattern, Long may it continue! 🙂

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

