Compass Quilters: One Wee Bird

Possum Magic is not the only group I joined as part of the 2014 New Quilt Blogger Blog Hop. A group of quilters from almost all points of the compass got together and started a block-based monthly quilting bee, Compass Quilters, and August is our first month.

Rebecca of One Wee Bird is queen bee for August, and she has asked us all (her ‘minions’ as she cheekily likes to call us) to make blocks using the ‘Hummingbird’ pattern by Red Pepper Quilts. She has chosen fabrics that are very much in the style of Rita from Red Pepper Quilts: predominantly black-and-white backgrounds with bright-as-bright-can-be centres. I am a fan of Rita’s style so I really enjoyed playing with these colour combinations. I had great fun rummaging through my scraps and stash to try to find lots of rainbow-coloured fabrics and suitable backgrounds that would match the style of Rebecca’s sample block.

The blocks came together without any problems. I diverted from the instructions for this block in one aspect: I did not trim the long side of each foundation paper piece until after I had sewn the four parts together. I found this gave me a more accurate 5½-inch square than the trimming method described in the instructions.

Here is what I will be sending to Rebecca.

Hummingbird pattern by Red Pepper Quilts made by Granny Maud's Girl

I tried to include bright fabrics in most colours of the rainbow.

Hummingbird pattern by Red Pepper Quilts made by Granny Maud's Girl

I fussy cut the cherries.

Hummingbird pattern by Red Pepper Quilts made by Granny Maud's Girl

I hope Rebecca does not mind the silly but cute raccoons!

We only needed to make two blocks, but I got a little carried away and made a third. Rebecca also threw down a challenge, saying that to fussy cut would be just showing off, so of course I had to try it! How could I resist a dare like that?

Rebecca is based in New Zealand and her craft blog, One Wee Bird, is really worth a read – not only for the lovely things she makes but also for her lively and quirky sense of humour. You will laugh. She is hilarious.

32 thoughts on “Compass Quilters: One Wee Bird

  1. I’m finally catching up on all my Bloglovin feeds and I can’t believe I’ve missed all the OneWeeBird love going on here, no wonder my ears were burning!!! Flattery will absolutely get you everywhere except ownership of my fab WIP that you guys have been sending me blocks for. Carla I knew you would not be able to resist the fussy cut challenge and your blocks are gorgeous!! Thankyou 😍

  2. Pingback: Possum Magic: Round 4 | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

