Scrap box challenge: Knitting bag

I am trying to restrict my fabric purchases for a few months and instead make things using what I have. In my scrap box, I had gathered a small pile of scraps from my big blue quilt, and I set myself the challenge of making something using them. I bought a 22-inch chunky zipper, and this is what I came up with: a knitting bag.

It was raining cats and dogs as I sewed this, so there are no progress photos. It was just too dark to take photos because of the clouds. I tried to take a photo of the ‘before’ pile of blue scraps, but it was too gloomy. The rain might be bad for photography and dog walking, but I love it. Winter here is when our neighbourhood looks green and my garden is happy and healthy, not scorched, dying and brown from the summer heat.

Scrappy patchwork knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

I remember my mum used to have a knitting bag this shape that fit knitting projects nicely.

Scrappy patchwork knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

To form the patchwork panel, I sorted and trimmed the scraps by width and then sewed them into long strips.

Scrappy patchwork knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

I made scrappy panels for the sides and the base.

Scrappy patchwork knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

I quilted the base and sides panel simply by sewing straight lines through the middle of each scrappy stripe.

Essentially, I made a box pouch, using a method similar to the one I have used to make other box pouches, including these, but I changed the dimensions and added handles.

The finished bag’s dimensions are:

  • height, 5½ inches
  • length, 16¾ inches
  • width, 6 inches
  • handles, 21 x 1 inches.

The bag has some odd measurements as I was improvising as I went.

Scrappy patchwork knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

It is a generous size, with lots of room for long knitting needles.

Scrappy patchwork knitting bag by Granny Maud's Girl

The inside is fully lined with another Kaffe Fassett print (lake blossoms), left over from my big blue quilt.

I thought about including internal pockets in the lining but decided against it.

The fabrics for the top, lining and handles came from larger pieces of fabric in my stash. I only had enough scraps to make the base and sides, which were made and quilted as one piece. Sadly, some of my pretty scraps have disappeared where they cannot be admired on the underside of the bag.

I used some of my stiff Matilda’s Own bag batting for the base and sides to give the bag rigidity, but I used lightweight fusible polyester batting for the top and ends. The softness of the top made it easier to attach the zipper. The handles have fusible interfacing to help them hold their shape.

I have not yet decided whether I will keep the bag for myself or put it aside as a gift. I am tempted to keep it for myself, but how many knitting bags does one girl need?

42 thoughts on “Scrap box challenge: Knitting bag

  1. Great looking project! But give away or keep? Hmmm… that’s a tough one. Are you giving away the big blue qulit that so many of the scraps came from? If yes, I’d say keep the knitting bag. I often make small projects from the leftovers from gift projects. Makes it easier to see them go!

  2. Nice bag. It almost makes me want to take up knitting. You could justify keeping it as a template for future gifts. I am also restricting my fabric purchases as I need to move some of my fabric out of storage and into use. I plan to make some shoe bags – simple drawstring bags to keep shoes in when travelling or commuting. I have several that I use myself and I’m planning to make a few for the end year gift-giving season. There will be a blog post on that at some stage.

    • No template is required for this bag! I recommend trying knitting.
      Shoe bags are a good idea. For the gift-giving season, I am planning to make simple bags as reusable Christmas wrapping instead of paper.

  3. You’re so clever Carla. It’s gorgeous. I’d be keeping that one for myself if I was you. I hope you’ve still got enough of those Kaffe blues left to put a few on my Possum Magic block when it gets to you?

  4. Ahaha I was thinking the same as Wendy: wondering if you had some spare for her centre.

    Having another bag just means you have one spare for another project so you don’t have to empty out another one!

  5. It’s darling Carla! I’ve been wanting to try a box pouch but they look difficult. I remembered too that when you come to Grand Forks, there is a quilt shop there : )

    • I know: Heart n Sole. I popped in last time I was in town. I have already emailed them and asked about sewing days and groups that accept ‘foreigners’ for a day. They all seem very welcoming.
      Box pouches are not at all tricky. They are worth having a go at.

  6. I love it! This is very well done. I really like the tape measure ribbon detail for the zip, perfect! Also like your label, how or where do you make them? I might need to do one of those since I started knitting (my work colleague is teaching me) .

  7. You can never have too many knitting bags and this one is gorgeous! Of course I say that and since I started quilting 2 years ago I haven’t touched my knitting needles. I really need to get back to it. I have a sweater that needs finishing. This bag really is pretty. Love the chunky zipper. It works really well with all the pretty blues.

  8. Pingback: Waste not, want not | Granny Maud's Girl

  9. Pingback: Scrap box challenge: Pincushion | Granny Maud's Girl

  10. What a fabulous bag! Had I known I would have had you help me start one while you were visiting! You will have to come see us again. Great blog Carla!

    • Thanks, Barb! And thanks for putting up with us!
      I was sort of winging it when I made the bag, so the odds are not great I can duplicate my efforts precisely. 🙂 We always have Skype until whenever I am back in Canada.

  11. Pingback: Second anniversary! | Granny Maud's Girl

  12. I follow your blog and never ever comment until now. No it is not because of the giveaway, I HAD to comment on this bag. I am a “bagaholic”! The shapes, color and sizes just catches my eye and this bag is BEAUTIFUL!

  13. Pingback: Scrap box challenge: The big blue cushion | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

