My first knitted lace

The knitted mess from my last post is finally finished! It did not look like much to begin with, but the marvels of blocking transformed it into a delicate lace scarf.

Benitoite scarf pattern by Tetiana Otruta, knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

When it first came off the knitting needles, it looked like this.

I bought the skein of Misti Alpaca laceweight yarn a year ago simply because it was pretty; it ‘jumped’ into my shopping basket, so to speak. I thought I could knit it up quickly. After all, I only planned to make a scarf and it was only one skein. Easy! Then, I spent an age agonising over which Ravelry pattern to use, before choosing Benitoite by Tetiana Otruta. The pattern was great. All of the problems were due to my inexperience with knitting lace. When it comes to craft, I like to bite off more than I can chew and then chew like crazy. Knitting this scarf proved that. This scarf has taken me a year as I seemed to knit three rows and unpick two – or, more often, knit thirty rows and unpick twenty. Because of the lace pattern, when I made a mistake, I was not able to simply pull my work off the needles, unravel a few rows, and stick it back on the needles as I often do for non-lace patterns. I was unable to recognise each stitch in the open pattern well enough to do that. Instead, I had to unpick each stitch one by one. Not fun. I should have used more lifelines, but when I thought of using one, it was already too late. This was also a slow project for me because I occasionally got spooked. For example, when I picked up the stitches from the provisional cast-on, the knitting sat untouched for a few months until I was brave enough to try the new-to-me next step. This scarf included many firsts for me:

  • my first knitted lace
  • my first time knitting from a skein, not a ball
  • my first time buying pretty yarn and then finding a pattern to suit, instead of the other way around
  • my first provisional cast-on
  • my first attempt at blocking.

I did not even know that I had to rewind a skein before I could start knitting. I soon learned!

Benitoite scarf pattern by Tetiana Otruta, knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

Before blocking, the lace pattern does not stand out too well.

Benitoite scarf pattern by Tetiana Otruta, knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

I used interlocking rubber mats and almost my entire collection of quilting pins to block the damp scarf.

Benitoite scarf pattern by Tetiana Otruta, knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

I should have checked the picture on the pattern, as I missed a few points. Perhaps I can do them properly next time when I wash it.

Benitoite scarf pattern by Tetiana Otruta, knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

After blocking, the lace pattern is clear.

Benitoite scarf pattern by Tetiana Otruta, knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

Finished! I feel brave enough to try other lace patterns now … as long as I am not working to a deadline.

Benitoite scarf pattern by Tetiana Otruta, knitted by Granny Maud's Girl

The colour matches my coat!

My first knitted lace might also have been my first scarf. I certainly do not remember ever knitting a scarf before. Unlike most people who learn to knit by making a scarf, I started knitting jumpers (sweaters). Now, after all this work, who wants to bet that the first time I wear it I snag it on my jewellery and damage it? Or that I am so frightened by the idea of damaging a year’s work that I will wear it rarely?

21 thoughts on “My first knitted lace

  1. I am SO impressed that this is your first time knitting lace! It is beautiful Carla! You should be very, very proud of yourself! But does it get cold enough there to warrant it? If not, you have my address right?! ;-))

  2. It’s fabulously beautiful and you should be exceptionally proud of yourself. Stuff whether it’s cold enough to wear it – I’m sure you can find somewhere the aircon is turned up too high and you just casually whip out this piece of gorgeousness and drape it around your shoulders… It looks extremely accomplished and I’d never have guessed it’s your first go at lace knitting.

  3. Oh MY. That is absolutely stunning!! I’ve not done lace either (I jumped into knitting with socks!) but you’ve encouraged me. SO gorgeous!

  4. that is SO beautiful!! You did an amazing job, and way to go- that’s a very impressive first lace project! Isn’t it amazing how lace goes from this ugly suckling to total swan after a good wet blocking?

  5. This lace is beautiful! I can only dream to be such a grand knitter, I have mastered the knit and purl stitches and there ends my knowledge!

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

