Dear Jane, how did you design your triangles?

I have been making up my own versions. The links take you to PDFs of my modified versions.

I sewed a few appliqué blocks by modifying some of the designs of the square blocks.

I found that modifying B1 Bachelor Buttons ended up with something that looks like the pompoms on a clown’s hat.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block B1 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block B1

I changed the squarish D3 Jason’s Jacks and made it triangularish.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block D3 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block D3

D8 Dee Dee’s Delight lost a set of points and shrank to fit.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block D8 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block D8

E1 Aunt Exie’s Phlox lost a melon and grew to fill the space.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block E1 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block E1

H12 Hannah Lou’s Hearts lost a heart.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block H12 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block H12

I simplified the eighth block on the top row.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block TR8 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block TR8

Then, I started on some pieced blocks.

If you use your imagination, you might see how K8 Springbrook Park became this.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block K8 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block K8

And M11 Rickshaw became this.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block M11 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block M11

I simplified the fifth block on the top row.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block TR5 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block TR5

The first block on the bottom row just needed a little tidy up.

Dear Jane patchwork quilt triangle block BR1 redrawn

Dear Jane triangle block BR1

So now I have ten of the triangles sewn.

I will not be getting much sewing done for the rest of the month as I fly away on holiday tomorrow! Yippee! I will not be blogging for a few weeks as I will be eating and drinking my way around Spain.

18 thoughts on “Dear Jane, how did you design your triangles?

  1. I love these triangles, they’re clean and beautiful. I’ve been a real purist with my DJ so far and have stuck to the original designs, redrafting anything the book doesn’t have exactly the same. But I love these so much that I think when I get round to the triangles I may try playing around with them a little too.

      • I love them! And thank you for the links. I’ve completed about 70-odd blocks now, all true to the original, but am secretly thinking about redoing a couple in styles I prefer. Particularly the centre block. By the time I get to the triangles I foresee having lost all desire to stick to the original.
        And enjoy your holiday! Sounds great!

      • I didn’t mind making G7, it came out fine, I just don’t really like the look of it as a centrepiece. Haven’t made Nan’s Naiad yet, but I don’t mind fiddly little squares and triangles so that one won’t upset me too much. The handstitched curved seams are the ones that make me curse under my breath. I’ve had C5 cut for months meaning to make it but I keep putting it off.

      • Aah! I just didn’t like the look of Nan’s Naiad and I plan to put the blocks in a different order … Okay, so I haven’t exactly got a plan yet for what order the blocks will go in. 🙂

  2. Spain! You lucky thing! I want to hear all about it when you get back! Have a ball! And your blocks are lovely! I especially like the last one!

    • Haha! The last one is the one I tinkered with the least. Maybe I should have stuck with Jane’s designs!
      I am really looking forward to the trip. I haven’t been overseas in several years and I was 3 the last time I visited Spain.

  3. Carla, your triangles look great! I too am trying to simplify the triangles yet want to keep the overall ‘look’ of the original. Do you mind if I occasionally borrow yours? I always do my own drafting so don’t need your actual patterns. Say no, I won’t be offended. You can use any of mine but they won’t be as neat as yours!
    Phil

  4. I found your post whilst gathering up the courage to start my DJ quilt and I must say, I love all of your ideas. Really creative and well-done. Can I ask how you do your applique? It looks so gorgeous with such clean points.

    • Amy, there are lots of different ways to tackle appliqué, but I am happy to explain how I do mine. I’ll send a separate email to try to explain. I am working on another batch of Dear Jane triangles at the moment. Maybe I should take step-by-step photos … Hmmm.

  5. These triangles are lovely Carla, and of course the appliqué versions appeal to me most. I started as a purist but that went out the window long ago in favour of a finish?

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

