Mug rug swap

When I saw the pattern for these mug rugs, I had to sign up for the swap. They are just so cute.

The swap was organised by the Quilting Gallery. The pattern is by Amanda of The Patchsmith, and she designed the two mug rugs to celebrate the Sochi Olympics. Appropriately, I sewed the last stitch on the binding while watching the men’s hockey final (Canada vs Sweden) with my Canadian husband. I was trying not to ask too many stupid questions as I really have no clue about the game.

The mug rugs were lots of fun to make. The hardest part was pulling fabrics from my stash and making decisions.

Quilting Gallery mug rug swap to celebrate the Sochi winter Olympics. Made by Granny Maud's Girl.

The colours of the dove were chosen to go with the scribbly patterned fabric in the wing, which I thought looked a bit like feathers.

Quilting Gallery mug rug swap to celebrate the Sochi winter Olympics. Made by Granny Maud's Girl.

I had to use the blue birdcage print on the back of the dove. It seemed so appropriate.

I hand appliquéd both, turning under the raw edges. I then embroidered a row of stem stitch around most of the shapes. The appliqué and embroidery made them a good small project to take travelling when I went away for a week.

Quilting Gallery mug rug swap to celebrate the Sochi winter Olympics. Made by Granny Maud's Girl.

I fussy cut the matryoshka’s tummy circle from a floral print. Another part of the same fabric was used for the binding.

Quilting Gallery mug rug swap to celebrate the Sochi winter Olympics. Made by Granny Maud's Girl.

The colours of the dove were chosen to go with the scribbly patterned fabric in the wing, which I thought looked a bit like feathers.

The two I made were posted to Arizona last week and have now safely arrived at their new home.

When my swap partner’s parcel arrived in the post yesterday, I was thrilled! I had to giggle about the similarity of the colour schemes we had chosen: warm orange matryoshkas and cool blue doves. We obviously have similar tastes. We had decided to keep what we were doing a surprise from each other, so this was a true coincidence. All we knew was that we both planned to use bright colours.

Quilting Gallery mug rug swap to celebrate the Sochi winter Olympics. Made by Shelly.

The colours of the dove were chosen to go with the scribbly patterned fabric in the wing, which I thought looked a bit like feathers.

Quilting Gallery mug rug swap to celebrate the Sochi winter Olympics. Made by Shelly.

The colours of the dove were chosen to go with the scribbly patterned fabric in the wing, which I thought looked a bit like feathers.

I love what Shelly sent me. I was really impressed by her hand quilting (a skill I still have to work on) and how she chose such a perfect background for the dove. It reflects the pattern of the leaves in the olive branch so very well, I think. She also found the cutest little pair of matryoshka embroidery scissors to include in the parcel.

I have to find a special spot in the house for them. I know they are mug rugs, but I am not sure I will be able to bring myself to set teacups on them and risk tea stains!

17 thoughts on “Mug rug swap

  1. Pingback: Appliqué rainbow baby quilt | Granny Maud's Girl

  2. I love your mug rugs – both the ones you made and the ones you received. I too find choosing fabric the hardest part of any mini quilt. I think Granny Maud would be very proud of your work and your blog – both are lovely.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

