Farewell, community quilts!

Today I said goodbye to my two scrappy humidicrib quilts, and I also bade farewell to a lap quilt I had been making to donate. It was a good thing I had marked them for donation before I even started sewing as I might have been tempted to keep them otherwise.

I have already written posts about the two humidicrib quilts (in cool and warm colours), but I have not shown you photos of them quilted and bound until now.

Humidicrib or doll’s quilt made from 1½-inch squares of scrap fabric

I did not have enough white for the back, so I included some offcuts from the back of my scrappy triangles quilt.

Humidicrib or doll’s quilt made from 1½-inch squares of scrap fabric

To make the backing large enough, I added a strip of pink. The quilting design can also be seen on the back.

The third quilt I donated today was a group effort. A few weeks ago my sewing group had a sewing bee specifically to make quilts to donate to charity. We gathered at one member’s house and split into teams of cutters, sewers, ironers, etc. We then spent a solid day sewing. In one day, we almost completed five lap-sized quilt tops, which some of us then took home to finish.

Many of us took fabric from our own stashes, and over the years we have also built up a group stash for such projects. Our parent group, the PWP, to which everyone in my sewing group belongs, occasionally provides funds to allow us to buy backing fabric and quilt wadding for quilts to be donated to charity, in addition to what we each contribute individually.

At the start of the sewing-bee day, we spread the fabric out and chose bits and pieces to include in each quilt top. Having strewn fabric scraps from one end of the living room to another, we made a real mess of our friend’s house!

This is the quilt top I was sewing on the day. I chose the fabrics and sat at the sewing machine, but I had a lot of help cutting and ironing (and, on occasion, unpicking), and one friend laid all the blocks out on the floor in their final arrangement. When I brought it home at the end of the day, the quilt top was almost finished; it was in rows that needed to be sewn together.

Pastel quilt top made from 2½-inch strips (same size as a jelly roll)

This pastel quilt top was made from 2½-inch strips of scrap fabric, contributed by various members of my sewing group.

In the few weeks since, I have pieced a scrappy backing, free-motion quilted it in a swirly, loopy design (about all I am capable of, if the truth be known) and bound it. Today it starts on its journey to a new home, care of the West Australian Quilters.

Pastel quilt top made from 2½-inch strips (same size as a jelly roll)

Quilted, bound and ready to give away.

Pastel quilt top made from 2½-inch strips (same size as a jelly roll)

I had to assemble the backing in four pieces, but I really like the effect.

You can see a photo of all the quilts our group made to donate on the West Australian Quilters’ blog.

9 thoughts on “Farewell, community quilts!

  1. Sometimes it’s really hard to give them away, isn’t it? I gave away two today, so I know how you’re feeling. All very pretty, and destined to be treasured by their new owners.

    • That’s the comforting thought, isn’t it – that they will be treasured by their new owners. I felt better today as an acquaintance told of her friends who had received humidicrib quilts like mine when their triplets were born.

    • I am a little nervous about the two little quilts’ backs. They should be plain so as not to cast an unpleasant reflection on the babies in the humidicribs (the quilts sit on top of the humidicribs, and, for example, the reflected glow of a yellow quilt back might make a baby look jaundiced), but I really was stretching my white. I am hoping the soft colours in small amounts are acceptable.

  2. Pingback: Cherry cake | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

