Flashback Friday: ‘It’s a nice day for a pink wedding’

While I am working on some top-secret Christmas gifts, which I cannot yet share, I thought I would share some photos of one of my favourite quilts instead. A few people might have spotted it in the background of my post about padded coathangers, and I was reminded of it when I was told last week that it will feature in the 2014 Australian Patchwork & Quilting calendar. I cannot tell you how surprised and thrilled I am that the publishers chose to include mine!

'It's a nice day for a pink wedding', a double wedding ring quilt made by Carla Morris and published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting volume 20, number 9.

It was a bit windy, and I feared the quilt might blow into the Swan River.

Friends had made double wedding ring quilts that I admired, but they warned me that they found making theirs tiresome as they sewed them entirely by hand. I decided to try making one by machine, and somehow I pulled it off.

I drew my own pattern, using Adobe Illustrator. The arcs are all foundation pieced using roughly cut squares, and the other pieces were then carefully pinned and machine sewn.
The full instructions and pattern were published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting’s volume 20, number 9.

'It's a nice day for a pink wedding', a double wedding ring quilt made by Carla Morris and published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting volume 20, number 9.

It is very exciting to have a quilt published.

I called this quilt ‘It’s a nice day for a pink wedding’. I do not know why a bright pink quilt made me think of Billy Idol, but it did! Maybe I had been watching The Wedding Singer. (I do like that film. The song Adam Sandler sings to Drew Barrymore in the plane was sung at our wedding.)

The quilt is pink and white simply because at the time I had more pink fabric in my stash than anything else. The custom quilting was done on a long-arm machine by Donna Lawrence of Calico Quilting.

'It's a nice day for a pink wedding', a double wedding ring quilt made by Carla Morris and published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting volume 20, number 9.

My favourite things in this quilt are the way the pinks fade from light to dark and the wide, white border that separates the scalloped, scrappy binding from the main part of the quilt.

I have to confess that until this week I did not have a good photo of this quilt, other than the one in the magazine taken by professional photographers, so I bundled the quilt and my camera in the car and took them to a spot I walk past with my dog almost every day. The quilt did not blow into the river, and it was not pooped on by the local birdlife. The photos might not be great, but I still count that as a successful outing!

'It's a nice day for a pink wedding', a double wedding ring quilt made by Carla Morris and published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting volume 20, number 9.

Trees that grow in peculiar sideways directions are handy for draping quilts on, eh?

The calendar, which will have lovely photos in it, far better than mine, will be bundled with the magazine issue that goes on sale in newsagents in late December.

The quilt lives in a spare bedroom, the one my grandmother stays in when she comes to visit.

9 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: ‘It’s a nice day for a pink wedding’

  1. Beautiful! You’ve inspired me to add one to my very long To Do list. I’m thinking about a dark grey background with brilliant coloured rings… And what an accolade being feature in the AP&Q… Congratulations.

  2. Congratulations on being included in the calendar! I think I might need to buy that edition! I love your DWR quilt- and what a great name for it!

  3. Pingback: Miss November | Granny Maud's Girl

  4. Pingback: Flashback Friday: Scrappy roses | Granny Maud's Girl

  5. Pingback: Stash Bee (part four) | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

