It’s a long way to the shop (if you wanna jelly roll)

On holiday recently, I found myself travelling a very long way to a quilting shop, and it made me wonder just how far I and other sewers will go to pursue our craft.

On the 80-kilometre drive from the town of Warrnambool, where we were staying – when not singing along with the radio or chatting with my long-suffering stepdaughter who good-naturedly kept me company – I was tempted to burst into a version of AC/DC’s song ‘It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘n’ Roll)’. Kids across Australia know the alternative lyrics: it’s a long way to the shop if you wanna sausage roll. For a quilter, a jelly roll (a pre-cut fabric bundle) seemed the perfect substitute lyrics.

My journey ended more then 3000 kilometres from home, but it was worth it. I visited Gum Valley Patchwork. I only bought a few things, but I now know another great source of fabric and patterns – just a phone call and a postman’s parcel away. The scenery on parts of the drive, near the Great Ocean Road, was lovely too.

Gum Valley Patchwork and Ric Rac patterns

My shopping spree at Gum Valley Patchwork included a few Ric Rac patterns.

I have been reading Jodie of Ric Rac’s blog. Her blog is wonderfully funny, and she makes the cutest stuffed toys. Gum Valley Patchwork stock her patterns, and the trip gave me the excuse I needed to buy a few.

I also wanted to admire Linda’s Dear Prudence quilt as I really would like to make another English paper-pieced quilt one day. Linda, the owner of Gum Valley Patchwork, made her amazingly beautiful quilt from tiny hexagons, and it is on display in her shop.

Sometimes small things make us happy. I bought a tiny pair of scissors that I was able to take on the plane on my flight home. Yes, plane-safe scissors!

The one thing I did not buy is a jelly roll.

Also, while in Warrnambool, I lurked around the town’s brilliant second-hand markets and found metres of Liberty fabric and a few balls of wool–cashmere yarn, which I plan to use for an amigurumi project. I have no idea what to do with the Liberty fabric, but it was too good a bargain not to buy it.

Second-hand fabric and yarn

Second-hand shops and markets can be great sources of fabric and yarn.

My route looked like this.

MapAustralia

Do you also spend time on your holidays hunting around craft and second-hand shops? Do you travel silly distances for your hobby?

12 thoughts on “It’s a long way to the shop (if you wanna jelly roll)

  1. I have been known to plan a route to a holiday destination which may conveniently include a detour to a patchwork shop! I love the Liberty – is there enough to make a summer blouse, perhaps?!

  2. Pingback: More hexagon fun | Granny Maud's Girl

  3. I would love to find a stash of Liberty at a market as you have. Any memories where it was in Warrnambool.
    My sister marries in the New Year and will move to Warrnambool. I best haunt the markets when I visit her! Great finds.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

