Flashback Friday: Abbey Lane

A few years ago, when I was learning to quilt, I took a class at my local quilt shop. It was an unstructured class; you turned up and the teachers guided you through whatever you wanted to make. Everyone was working on different projects, and we learned by watching the teacher explain things to classmates.

One of the things I made was this quilt, using Abbey Lane’s ‘Garden Party’ pattern. I had never heard of stack-and-slash, raw-edge appliqué or fusible webbing (like Vliesofix) before.

Quilt made using Abbey Lane's 'Garden Party' pattern

This is my version of Abbey Lane’s ‘Garden Party’ quilt pattern.

One of my favourite things is the stack-and-slash cream background. Using a variety of cream fabrics gives an otherwise plain background a lovely texture. I like it so much I would be tempted to make a whole quilt just like this, without the appliqué.

This quilt, along with my recycled jumper blanket and my knitted blanket, is one of my nanna-nap blankets, perfect for winter evenings. (With all these blankets, it is hard to tell that I live in a mild–warm climate where the average daytime temperature in the coldest month is 18°C, which is about 65°F.)

I had leftovers, so I made a matching cushion.

Cushion to match quilt made using Abbey Lane’s ‘Garden Party’ pattern

The cushion was my first attempt at free-motion quilting. Fortunately, I do not think you can see the detail (and boo-boos) in this photo.

3 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Abbey Lane

    • I think it has other names in other places, but the basics are that you start with a stack of squares of different fabrics, lined up, face up, in a neat pile. You then use your ruler and rotary cutter to make random cuts from side to side through the stacked layers. You shuffle the pieces around a bit and then sew them back together. Finally, you trim the scrappy blocks square again.
      It might be clearer if you look at the two photos of pink and blue stork quilts on my community quilts post (1 Dec.). I think the idea is difficult to see here on the cream. I am sure there are great tutorials online, but feel free to ask more questions.
      It is wonderfully effective and so easy – no points to line up!

      • Oh, I’ve seen something similar but more precise, and I did like it. I’ve yet to try anything which is more improvisational and intuitive, but I will one day. 🙂

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

