Micro quilts

I declared last month Jane-free July, a short break from the fun of making a Dear Jane quilt, during which I would focus on other projects.

I have enough unfinished projects on the go, but I could not resist starting something new, and I signed up for my first online sewing swap. The swap is to make a set of coasters, organised by Michele at Quilting Gallery and designed by Vicki of Quilting Lodge.

Quilted coasters made for a Quilting Gallery swap and designed by Vicki Ruebel of the Quilting Lodge.

The pieced backs were as fun to make as the appliquéd fronts.

Quilted coasters made for a Quilting Gallery swap and designed by Vicki Ruebel of the Quilting Lodge.

I used grey to tie all the brightly coloured coasters together.

The coasters were so much fun to make that I made more coasters, using Kumiko Fujita’s book of 318 patchwork patterns. (Her book is now out of print, I believe, but I recently bought my copy second-hand through Amazon Japan.) My coasters were 4½-inch squares, a fraction smaller than the swap coasters, mostly due to the limited zoom abilities of my home photocopier.

Incomplete quilted coasters made using patterns from Kumiko Fujita's 318 patchwork patterns book.

I used Kumiko Fujita’s patterns for the front and bright coordinating prints for the back.

Quilted coasters made using patterns from Kumiko Fujita’s 318 patchwork patterns book.

This is my set of fruit-themed coasters. The orange is a simple modification of Kumiko Fujita’s apple pattern.

Quilted coasters made using patterns from Kumiko Fujita’s 318 patchwork patterns book.

The little teapot and teacup (also from Kumiko Fujita’s book) had to be in girly pinks. I do not know how I will ever dare put a mug on them and risk coffee or tea stains.
The backs are simple 16-patch blocks made up of a grid of the four pink fabrics I used.

The coasters are so small, they are not just mini quilts, they are micro quilts. I confess that I do not understand the point of mini quilts until they are given a purpose – as coasters, placemats, table runners, wall-hangings, cushion covers or the like. With a purpose, mini quilts are a great way to experiment and learn new quilting techniques without committing yourself to a full-sized quilt.

Yes, I do see the absurdity in pausing my Dear Jane project – dozens of tiny, detailed 5-inch quilt blocks – to make coasters – more tiny, detailed 5-inch quilt blocks. I never said my sewing decisions were rational!

Hand-made quilted coasters

Eleven coasters! Does that count as eleven finished quilts?

9 thoughts on “Micro quilts

  1. You have been awarded the Versatile Blogger icon, I’m sorry that this is a little like an old chain letter as there are some responsibilities if you choose to accept, but it was given because I truly do enjoy your blog 🙂

    Warm regards, Caroline aka lalinsocal

  2. Pingback: My first sewing swap | Granny Maud's Girl

  3. Thrilled to receive in the mail today Kumiko Fujita’s book. Thanks for telling me about it. A cousin of my sister-in-law’s friend (they live in Taiwan) tracked one down for me in Japan. I figured out that if I copy the designs at 200% and then copy that copy at 105%, I can get 5 inch squares. Now it will be hard to decide which one to do first.
    Blessings,
    Capi

    • Ooh! Exciting. Great detective work. I’ve just been enlarging some to almost 8 inches for a quilt-as-I-go project to use up the many, many wadding scraps I have collected. Like you, I don’t know which to do first.

  4. Pingback: Nametag | Granny Maud's Girl

  5. Like you, my friends can’t bear to put their mugs on the mug rugs I give them so they turn them over when they want to use them and turn them right-side up when not in use. Your coasters are gorgeous. Little micro works of art.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

