Flashback Friday: Knitted blanket

I thought that now and then, on a Friday, I would share an old craft project, something made long ago. A lot of my hand-made projects were given away as gifts, and many home-made clothes have dated (shoulder pads! ugh!) and been consigned to the scrap heap, but I do still have lots of things I made long ago.

Knitted blanket made from Better Homes and Gardens’ pattern (September 1988 edition)

This knitted blanket only took a dozen years to finish!

The pattern for this knitted blanket comes from a September 1988 edition of Better Homes and Gardens. In 1988, I was at university and on a very tight budget, so the yarn is a bit scratchy and at least partly acrylic, which today I would try to avoid. I made some progress early on, and then it languished, unfinished, in my craft box for years. I even moved overseas, storing my box of sewing and knitting supplies in my dad’s garage until my return. (Thanks, Dad!)

I think I finally finished this blanket in the early noughties. To be able to finish, I bought a copy of Pauline Turner’s How to Crochet and used it to learn how to join the blocks and make the border. Pauline’s book obviously lived up to its name as it did successfully teach me how to crochet.

The original pattern has a fringed border, but I crocheted a border. I am always nervous about washing fringe.

How to Crochet by Pauline Turner

How to Crochet by Pauline Turner

Now the blanket is in regular use. It sits on my favourite chair in the library (our posh name for the upstairs sitting room that has all our books in it and is where I like to sit and do my hand-sewing) and is my lap blanket for nanna naps on rainy weekends. Because the yarn is not anything fancy, I do not even mind sharing it with the pets.

10 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: Knitted blanket

    • Thanks, Brigitte. It would be easy for any knitter to make her own version, even without a pattern. Just knit squares in your favourite knitting designs – cables, bobbles, whatever – and then join them with crochet.

  1. Pingback: Flashback Friday: Abbey Lane | Granny Maud's Girl

    • There are 64 squares in an 8×8 grid. They were knitted in 8 ply on 5 mm needles, and the pattern called for twenty 50 gram balls. Each square is about 6 inches (15 centimetres), or a smidge over when stretched. The chair is from Ikea. 🙂

    • Sorry, Marg, the pattern is a quarter of a century old and from a magazine. I doubt even the yarn manufacturer, Panda, would have it in their archives. However, it would be easy to reproduce something similar. Simply knit lots of squares the same size and crochet them together. The first of the Vogue Stitchionary books would be a great source of ideas for patterns and textures. (I love that book series!)

  2. The blanket is beautiful, but I did laugh because I bought the same book (how to crochet ) a few years back for one of those rainy days & its still sat on my book self waiting for me to learn how to crochet… now I’ve seen your lovely blanket I may get round to using it ..

    • We have all done that – bought things for rainy day plans. Now, at least, when that rainy day comes, you will know that the book’s title is not fiction and that it really can teach you how to crochet. 🙂

  3. I saved this pattern of the knitted blanket (pattern September 1988) for years,but having moved house I have now lost it, I would dearly love to get this pattern and finally knit the blanket, is there any chance I could buy this now,thank you .

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

