Here, kitty, kitty!

I have taken a short break from Dear Jane. Those tiny blocks are great fun but terribly addictive. I found myself twitching to make just one more, as I imagine an alcoholic craves just one more drink. In the Dear Jane hiatus, I have been making slow (painfully slow) progress on some knitting and reading blogs on Bloglovin’.

I took the plunge and loaded the Bloglovin’ app onto my iPad. Now, I have all the craft blogs I read in one place, and that one place is not my work computer so I can avoid tempting distractions during work hours. You can follow my blog with Bloglovin’.

This week I made another doorstop, again from Super-Cute Doorstops by Emma Hardy.

This cat doorstop is easy and quick to make, apart from the tail, which takes a little bit of concentration to turn and stuff.

This cat doorstop is easy and quick to make, apart from the tail, which takes a little bit of concentration to turn and stuff.

To make the body, I used some leftover wool suiting from a winter dress. I then spent ages agonising over which fabrics, buttons and ribbon would work well as patches, eyes and collar. I thought I had found a great blue fabric with spectacles and pencils (from Julia Rothman’s Type range) in my stash – it worked really well with some buttons and a blue ribbon I had – but when I showed it to my husband he said, ‘A cat with glasses on its arse!?’ I did not realise that realism was so critical in doorstop making!

The cat was easy to make, apart from the tail, which took a lot of wrangling and a small amount of under-my-breath cursing to turn right side out and stuff. With the benefit of hindsight, I realise if I had stuffed the tail less firmly, it would have curled around the body better.

4 thoughts on “Here, kitty, kitty!

  1. LOL! Yes husbands seem to take the need for realism to a whole new level! Doorstop is on my list, your Kitty has more visual interest than the flour encased sac with handle my grandmother used to make 🙂

  2. Pingback: Versatile Blogger. . . | lalinsocal

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

