Dear Jane, why so many melons?

My Dear Jane quilt is very much like the story of the tortoise and the hare. I am the tortoise, slowly plodding along, but I will finish … eventually.

So far, I have just over ninety Dear Jane blocks finished.

So far, I have just over ninety Dear Jane blocks finished.

I have sewn ninety-three tiny blocks, including a few I am not altogether happy with and plan to redo, and I have a few more cut and ready to go or partly made. I am finding zip-lock sandwich bags just the right size to store the incomplete blocks, including a few that I have pieced and now just need to appliqué the melons onto.

After experimenting with silk thread and English paper piecing of hexagons, I am unashamedly in love with silk thread. I now plan to use it for all my appliqué. I also plan to try it for sewing hand-pieced blocks as I suspect the finer thread will result in a neater finish. (I do not like the ‘toothy’ edges on some hand-pieced seams if I do not press them very carefully.)

Three Dear Jane blocks are cut out and being constructed. My two small design boards are coming in handy for the pieced blocks.

Three Dear Jane blocks are cut out and being constructed. My two small design boards are coming in handy for the pieced blocks.

I am now more than halfway through the 169 squares. Ninety-three blocks and thirty-four appliquéd melons. It feels like I have sewn many more melons, but perhaps this is just because I have just cut out another sixteen in preparation for other incomplete blocks.

Dear Jane, why so many appliquéd melons?

5 thoughts on “Dear Jane, why so many melons?

  1. Pingback: Dear Jane, I am making progress | Granny Maud's Girl

  2. Pingback: Dear Jane, I am a rebel | Granny Maud's Girl

  3. Looks wonderful. I started my scrappy Dear Jane on May 6th of this year. I have worked tirelessly and have all the blocks done and 17 of the triangles so far. I wish I had found your blog before I started and got so far into it. I love the redesigns on the triangles. They are beautiful.

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

