Evolution of a scrap quilt (part two)

At the beginning of the year, during the crazy heatwave, I made a quilt top from a box of fat quarters given to me by my sewing group.

It looked like this.

Scrap patchwork quilt top made of equilateral triangles

The front of my triangle scrap quilt has been finished for months and waiting for a backing.

When I had finished the quilt top, I still had a lot of fabric left, so I wanted to use up some of it in the backing. The quilt top is large, and would have needed three lengths of fabric to make a large enough backing; two lengths were just a fraction not enough. I thought adding a pieced strip to the quilt’s back would use up some of the leftover fabric and avoid the need to buy three lengths instead of two.

After trawling about the internet looking for ideas for an easy but interesting idea for a quilt backing, I found inspiration in the form of a cushion tutorial at Elizabeth Hartman’s Oh, Fransson!

The result looks like this.

I am hoping the fancy quilt back will make this quilt reversible. The colourful strip is 12 inches wide and should sit slightly off centre.

I am hoping the fancy quilt back will make this quilt reversible. The colourful strip is 12 inches wide and should sit slightly off centre.

I followed the tutorial on Oh, Fransson! and made blocks about 12½ inches square before trimming them down to size. My blocks varied from 12 to 13 inches across, but were always 12½ inches tall so the strip stayed an even width.

Crazy patchwork block

The crazy patchwork blocks are trimmed to size.

I used at least six fabrics in each block. To create the gradual colour change, I laid the remaining scraps in colour order. For each block, I added three new fabrics and left out three, slowly making my way through the colour order.

Quilt binding, top and backing all folded up and ready for the next stage: quilting.

Quilt binding, top and backing all folded up and ready for the next stage: quilting.

All done! Next stage: quilting!

And I still have a heap of leftover fabric!

6 thoughts on “Evolution of a scrap quilt (part two)

  1. That’s a beautiful piece of crazy patchwork. The colour changes you’ve achieved are quite effective. I like the way you systematically added and deleted fabrics as you created each block.

  2. Pingback: Farewell, community quilts! | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

