Friendship blocks

Sunday was spent making three friendship blocks for members of my sewing group. Two ladies are leaving us to move overseas (it happens a lot as our group includes many ex-pats) so we are making secret, surprise blocks as farewell gifts. The third was to replace a ‘normal’ friendship block that was stolen in a burglary. Yes, burglars steal quilt blocks! Who knew? I do not think the burglars were targeting craft items, it just happened to be in a backpack with some ‘real’ valuables.

The first was a Jacob’s ladder block for Eileen. The star fabric is from one of Kaffe Fassett’s collections, and Eileen gave some to everyone in the group. It turned out to be an inspired idea as it has so many great colours to play with. I have used pink and green, but just about every colour in the rainbow has been included by other members of our sewing group, making a lovely, colourful quilt. Luckily, she had some leftover fabric so I could make a replacement when the first was stolen. I think I used similar colours the first time I made the block. I know I used a dark pink.

Eileen's Jacob's ladder friendship block

Eileen’s Jacob’s ladder friendship block

The second block is a simple wonky star for a friend who has a bright and bubbly personality. We thought bright colours would suit. We used The Silly BooDilly’s wonky star tutorial to make them.

Gloria's wonky star friendship block

Gloria’s wonky star friendship block

Last, I made up a pattern for a friend who likes bright spots, stripes and florals. She likes pretty and feminine quilts, so I tried to create something that reflected that. Each person in the group was asked to appliqué a 12½ inch block with flowers. I drew two simple flower shapes and created templates of both in an assortment of sizes. Group members could appliqué any combination or number of flowers to a green background. As it is a surprise, she has no idea what the group is up to. I hope she likes it!

Nikki's ‘spring wildflowers’ friendship block, made by Granny Maud’s Girl

Nikki’s ‘spring wildflowers’ friendship block

2 thoughts on “Friendship blocks

  1. Pingback: Second anniversary! | Granny Maud's Girl

I appreciate your comments and will reply by email.

